Kentucky FHA Loans Compared to Kentucky Conventional Loans


via Kentucky FHA Loans Compared to Kentucky Conventional Loans

 

Kentucky FHA Loans Compared to Kentucky Conventional Loans

 

When it comes to financing a home a buyer is faced with the decision of what type of loan they want. The two most common choices are FHA or Conventional. Both have their advantages and disadvantages. Follow the chart below to see which one is a fit for you!

For more information on homes available for FHA or Conventional

Which Loan is better for you?

Kentucky FHA Loans are good for borrowers who have the following:

• Credit scores less than 680.
• Less than 5% down payment and no reserves to use.
• Borrowers with past foreclosures between 3 and 7 years old.
• Borrowers with past short sales between 2 and 4 years old.
• Borrowers who need a gift for the down payment and/or closing costs, prepaid taxes and
insurance.
The FHA Mortgage Insurance premium is a premium that exists for the FHA Loan that is
paid up front and monthly by the homebuyer. This premium protects the lender should the
buyer default. They vary per state and per type of loan Kentucky home buyers qualify for. In Kentucky, upfront mortgage insurance premiums are 1.75%.
Below are the rates per type of loan:
• 15-Year Fixed with down payment more than 10%: .45%
• 15-Year Fixed with down payment less than 10%: .70%
• 30-Year Fixed with down payment more than 5%: .80%
• 30-Year Fixed with down payment less than 5%: .85%

Kentucky Conventional loans are usually reserved for the following:

• Credit scores greater than 680
• Greater than or equal to  5% down payment with reserves
• Borrowers with past foreclosures over 7 years old.
• Borrowers with past short sales between 5-7 years old.
• Borrowers who have a lot of money saved up and want to get rid of mortgage insurance within the first 5 years give or take. 20% equity position is needed for no mi

The biggest difference between conventional loans and FHA loans comes down to the mortgage insurance.  Mortgage insurance is more expensive for FHA loans, but the trade off is a lower fixed rate than conventional loans.

On Conventional loans there is no upfront mortgage insurance like FHA, and if you have a high credit score you can possibly get a lower monthly mi premium as compared to FHA where everybody gets the same mortgage insurance premium not matter your credit score or down payment.

Lastly, FHA Mortgage insurance is for life of loan, whereas Conventional mortgage insurance or pmi it’s called, is discontinued once you reach the 80% threshold equity position of your home loan.

Again, I would not get too caught in FHA having mortgage insurance for life of loan, because most loans are only kept open a minimum of 5-7 years so a lot of times it may make sense to go with the lower rate and pay the mortgage insurance with FHA because most people don’t hold their mortgage for 30 years.

 

You can call or text me with your questions and we can compare the differences based on your credit score, down payment and income.

 

FHA vs conventional loans comparison chart

Equal Housing Lender.  NMLS#:57916 http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/Rates, terms, and program information are subject to change without notice. Subject to certain approvals, terms and conditions. This is not a commitment to lend.

Not part of any government lending agency and only lending in the State of Kentucky.

Looking at FHA loans vs Conventional loans can arm you with a lot of valuable information as these are the 2 most popular mortgage loan products today. Before getting to the content let’s look at some abbreviations that will need to be defined.

 

  • PMI stands for Private Mortgage Insurance
  • MIP stands for Mortgage Insurance Premium
  • Credit Scores are a numerical measure of your credit worthiness, the maximum score is 850
  • Debt-to-Income Ratio measures your monthly income versus your monthly obligations. A good rule of thumb is to try to be below 45%

 

FHA Loans vs Conventional Loans

 

fha loans vs conventional loans

 

Conventional Mortgage Benefits

 

  • Minimum Down Payment is 5%
  • Maximum loan amount is $424,100
  • 20% down payment preferred to avoid PMI
  • No upfront PMI
  • 3% Down Payment Conventional Loan Option is available
  • Mortgage Insurance is cheaper on a Conventional Loan at .51%
  • PMI expires once principal balance is less than 78%
  • Houses do not have to be owner-occupied (so they can be used at rentals)
  • Can purchase any condominium and townhome (no FHA regulations)

 

Conventional Mortgage Disadvantages

 

  • Significant upfront investment (20% down preferred)
  • Credit score of 620 required
  • No Down Payment Assistance
  • Down Payment must be at least 5% unless you qualify for a 3% conventional mortgage
  • Harder to Qualify for a Conventional Mortgage
  • No government inspection so the home can be in any quality
  • Only a portion of a down payment can be a gift
  • Interest rates are higher than FHA loans

 

Most of the disadvantages of conventional mortgages stem around qualifications and resources needed upfront. If a borrower has significant resources most of these disadvantages are of little consequence.

 

Conventional loan rates today

 

FHA Loan Advantages

 

The major advantage to going with an FHA loan is that there are much more lax credit standards you have to meet to obtain financing. Usually, FHA mortgages require a lower down payment, can work with lower credit scores, less elapsed time is needed if you have some credit problems (charge-offs, foreclosures) and you can use a non-occupant co-borrower or co-signer (who is a relative) to help you qualify for the loan. That way you can use blended ratios. Blended ratios are debt-to-income ratios that equally blend or combine the primary borrower’s income and the non-occupant co-borrower’s income and monthly payments to help get approval for the loan. Except for HomeReady (formerly Fannie Mae HomePath) mortgages, conventional loans do not allow you to use a non-occupant co-borrower.

 

  • Government-backed program. Ideal for first-time home buyers
  • Easier to obtain, lower credit scores needed and lower minimum down payment
  • Down Payment minimum is 3.5%
  • All of down payment can be a gift
  • Down Payment Assistance Available (in some circumstances)
  • No reserves required
  • Minimum credit score is 580 (for 3.5% down payment)
  • Home has to meet a minimum condition to be approved for FHA so there are less potential upfront repairs needed
  • Lower interest rates than conventional mortgages

 

 

FHA Loan Disadvantages

 

  • FHA loans require the owners to live in the home
  • Mortgage Insurance Premium required if borrowers put down less than 10%
  • Private Mortgage Insurance monthly cost is higher for FHA loans
  • Government Licensed Inspector required to inspect home before sale can be approved
  • FHA maximum loan limit is $271,050
  • Condominiums require FHA approval
  • FHA Loans take longer to process because of government requirements and all mandated repairs have to be completed before sales can be finalized

 

Most of these disadvantages involve extra requirements or limits added to the process of the house (see Pros and Cons of FHA Loans). Some of these might not be disadvantages depending on one’s personal situation, but they are extra steps to note. Since FHA mortgages are a government program, more care and consideration goes into the process, which may be better in some situations.

 

FHA loan rates today

 

Compare and Contrast FHA loans vs Conventional loans

 

There are four important numbers in deciding which loan you will go with: credit scores, down payment amount, debt-to-income, and mortgage insurance percentage rate. Conventional mortgages and FHA home loans have different limits and rates which are important to examine. They also have important differences which affect the availability of properties, the condition of the properties one wishes to buy and how your down payment can be paid. So comparing FHA loans vs Conventional loans can sometimes be a tricky endeavor.

 

Down Payment Requirements

 

  • Conventional Mortgages require between 5 and 20% upfront
    • In certain circumstances, down payments can be as low as 3% (Conventional 97 loan program)
  • FHA Mortgages have 2 possibilities
    • If Credit Score is 500-579 then 10% down payment is required (not all lenders will even go down this low)
    • If Credit Score is 580+ then 3.5% down payment is required

 

 

Debt-to-Income Ratio

 

  • Conventional Mortgages’ maximum debt-to-income ratio is 43% (hard cap)
  • FHA Mortgages’ maximum debt-to-income ratio is 45%
    • Soft cap as in certain circumstances this can be adjusted up to 50%

 

Mortgage Insurance Premium Rates

 

  • Conventional Mortgages PMI rate is .51% PMI
  • FHA Mortgages
    • If Down Payment is 10% or more the percentage is .80% MIP
    • If Down Payment is less than 10% the rate is .85% MIP.

 

Credit Score Minimum Requirement

 

  • Conventional Mortgage minimum credit score
    • Most lenders will require between 620 and 640
    • Some lenders it will be as high as 700
  • FHA Mortgage minimum credit score
    • Credit Score is a minimum of 500 if putting 10% down
    • Credit Score is a minimum of 580 if not

 

 

These four numbers are important to know and will affect one’s decision to pursue a particular type of home loan. Knowing your combination of numbers as you are looking to buy a house will help buyers find the best loans for their particular situation.

 

Other Comparisons

 

  • All sellers will take conventional mortgages and some sellers will not take FHA Loans
    • People looking for short-sells won’t take FHA because FHA has a longer closing process.
    • If sellers know there are FHA repairs that are needed in order to sell their house, they will not always accept FHA financing.

 

Thus, if one is wanting a low-risk transaction then the FHA home loan route is a better option to pursue, even though it limits your options for homes that you might wish to buy. If one is looking to fix-up a house and raise its equity quickly then a conventional loan is going to be more beneficial because there are no requirements as to the condition of the house and it’s occupied status.

 

Down Payment Gifting

 

  • Making the Down Payments (Assistance and Gifts)
    • Conventional mortgages have no assistance but can be partially fulfilled with a gift
    • FHA Mortgages have loans and assistance programs available and the whole down payment can be fulfilled with a gift

 

In this article, we have given you the basic parameters of FHA loans vs Conventional loans. The conventional loans are for people who have a better financial track record and can handle a larger upfront cost. Because of PMI, conventional loans are cheaper in the long run if you can put enough of a down payment to get rid of PMI. However, there are no down payment assistance programs to help you reach that goal. FHA loans are for people who are looking to build their investment and in some cases may not have a great financial track record. FHA loans have lower down payment requirements and many grants/forgivable loans to help people wanting to buy a first house in which to live for at least a few years. It is important to assess your situation and decide which mortgage is going to work better for your circumstances.

 

Conclusion

 

Both mortgages have a lot of benefits and drawbacks because they are designed for people with different needs. This article has hopefully helped you to get a basic understanding of the different terms and conditions of different mortgage packages when looking at FHA loans vs Conventional loans. Home buying can be an emotional roller coaster and the knowledge in this article will help you navigate the various emotional struggles of home buying.

 

 

 

 

 

louisville-kentucky-fha-mortgage-loan-guide-1-638

 

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Kentucky USDA Mortgage Upfront Guarantee Fee and the monthly mortgage insurance Annual fee


via Kentucky USDA Mortgage Upfront Guarantee Fee and the monthly mortgage insurance Annual fee

 

Kentucky Rural Housing Loans for 2018

USDA home loans in Kentucky are also known as the Rural Development Loan or RHS Loans. It is one of the best options for homebuyers that are currently looking for a home outside the urban areas of Lexington, Louisville, Bowling Green and Northern Kentucky that requires No Money Down.
Another major advantage of this home loan is it’s fixed interest rate.  The fixed interest rate insulate buyers from interest rate fluctuations. You’ll have the same monthly loan repayment throughout the life of your loan.
100 percent Financing Kentucky USDA Rural Development Loans will allow you to roll up some of your closing cost into your monthly mortgage. While it is impossible to avoid closing costs of the home purchase, it is possible to have the seller pay for some of these cost and or arranged for them to be added to your total loan with minimal impact on your monthly payments.

Eligibility for Kentucky USDA Loans

When applying for eligibility for 100% USDA loans, There are six factors taken into account:
  • Loan income restrictions Most household income limits are set between $78k for a family of four, and up to $103k for a family of five or more see map >>>>>http://www.rd.usda.gov/files/RD-GRHLimitMap.pdf
  • Credit score  You have three credit scores, they throw and the high and low score and take the middle score of each of the three main credit bureaus, experian, equifax, and transunion.Most lenders will want a 640 middle credit score due to the fact that GUS(Guaranteed Underwriting System) will not give you an automated approval upfront if the middle score is below the 640 threshold. You may get a refer eligible on the initial pre-approval but a lot of lenders will not honor a refer eligible USDA file.
  • Property Ownership (Do you own other Property) In most cases, USDA will not allow you to use their program to purchase another home if you already have a home in your name. In some extreme cases, they will waive this if certain exceptions are met. You can call or email me for more details on this matter. The USDA loans are only available for single family primary residences. No rental homes or working farms are allowed on the USDA Home Loan Program
  • Residential Location (USDA Eligibility:  to checkk click here ) Is the property located in a Eligible area. See link above for eligibility boundaries for counties in Kentucky
  • Debt to Income Ratios: If your credit score is above 640, GUS will typically limit your backend ratio to 45% of your total gross income. The front end ratio, or the housing ratio, usually is centered around 30% to 35% range, with compensating factors such as assets or money in bank to cover your new house payment, disposable income, high credit scores, and no rent payment shock. Rent payment shock is where your new house payment is much larger than your current rent payment. This only comes into play on lower credit scores.
  • Assets  I have noticed that with 3 or 4 months reserves you can typically get a loan approved with lower credit scores with payment shock on the new loan. Additionally, if you have access to 20% down payment in your checking or savings account, they will make you use your own money. If the money is in a 401k or other tax deferred savings accounts this will not factor in and you can use the USDA loan program.
  • I can explain this more in detail if you want to call or email me.

 

 

Joel Lobb Senior  Loan Officer

American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.

10602 Timberwood Circle Suite 3
Louisville, KY 40223
 Fax:     (502) 327-9119
Company ID #1364 | MB73346E
http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
Disclaimer: No statement on this site is a commitment to make a loan. Loans are subject to borrower qualifications, including income, property evaluation, sufficient equity in the home to meet Loan-to-Value requirements, and final credit approval. Approvals are subject to underwriting guidelines, interest rates, and program guidelines and are subject to change without notice based on applicant’s eligibility and market conditions.  NMLS#57916 http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
. The content in this marketing advertisement has not been approved, reviewed, sponsored or endorsed by any department or government agency. Rates are subject to change and are subject to borrower(s) qualification.

 

 

 

 

2018 Kentucky First Time Home Buyer Loan Programs


via 2018 Kentucky First Time Home Buyer Loan Programs

 

Getting a mortgage for a home can seem like a complicated and mysterious process. Just like any good investment, you should never buy anything that you don’t understand.  Knowing how the mortgage lending system works will relieve much of the stress and anxiety associated with making what is most likely the largest purchase of your entire life. This article will help you understand…

What You Need To Know About A Mortgage… BEFORE You Get One!!!

Qualifying for a Mortgage

Home LoansMortgage companies are in business to make money by lending money that is secured by an asset large enough to sell and recover their capital if the borrower is no longer able or willing to pay the payments. They are not in the business of owning property and would rather not have to foreclose on a loan, repossess the property and sell it to recapture their capital. This does happen but it is not their primary business. They would rather have their borrowers make their payments so that they could collect the interest and move on down the road. To increase their odds of that happening, mortgage companies look at several areas of your financial history to determine if you will meet their standards. This is called Qualifying for a Mortgage.

What the mortgage company finds when they look at these areas will help determine the type of mortgage that is available to you and the interest rate you will pay on the money that you borrow.

The areas that they are interested in looking at are:

Job History

Lenders want to know if you have been in your current job and/or profession for at least two years. They also want to know if you are retired or self-employed.

Income

TaxesMortgage lenders want to know how much your monthly income is before taxes are taken out (Gross Monthly Income). Typically you will be asked to provide check stubs for the last 30 days and Federal Tax Returns or W-2’s for the last two years to prove your income.

If you are self-employed and it is difficult for you to prove your gross income to the lender you may be able to get a “stated income” loan. If that is the route that you take, your income must be “reasonable” for your profession. Since stated income loans are riskier for the lender you will generally have a higher interest rate.

Credit History

Mortgage lenders really like it if you have a history of paying your bills on time. This is reflected in your credit report and FICO score. If you have “bad credit”, you are NOT automatically disqualified from getting a mortgage. Lower credit scores will increase the interest rate that you will be required to pay and sometimes that increase will be quite significant.

Debt Load

You can have an awesome job with an income to make Bill Gates jealous and a great credit score but if you have already acquired too much long term debt you may not qualify for the loan you want.

assetsAssets

Mortgage lenders will want to check your bank accounts to make sure that you have the cash necessary to pay the down payment and closing costs and that you have “reserves” available to make the loan payment. Often, the lender will require 3-6 months reserves. (Reserves can be in a 401K or other retirement account that you can pull the money out of)

Requested Loan Amount

The loan you are requesting will need to be proportional to your ability to make the payments. Be reasonable with your house buying expectations – don’t expect to buy a lot more house than you can afford. The recent housing bust defined the term “house poor” and got a lot of people into financial trouble. Again, mortgage lenders would much rather you make your monthly house payments because everyone loses if they have to foreclose.

Determining YOUR Mortgage Interest Rate

The market place determines the range of interest rates available for any mortgage and the lending rates change daily. The specific interest rate you will pay is based on how well qualified you are and the type of loan you want.

Interest rates are typically based on the answers to these questions:

How Good Is Your Credit Score? 

FICO ScoreThe most widely used score is the FICO score, the credit score created by Fair Isaac Corporation. Lenders use the FICO Score to help them make billions of credit decisions every day. Fair Isaac calculates the FICO Score based solely on information in consumer credit reports maintained by the credit reporting agencies.

FICO credit scores range from 300 to 850. That FICO Score is calculated by a mathematical equation that evaluates many types of information from your credit report, at that agency. By comparing this information to the patterns in hundreds of thousands of past credit reports, the FICO Score estimates your level of future credit risk.

With the top end of the credit score being 850, anything above about 720 is considered excellent. Some local lenders set 740 as the benchmark for their preferred interest rates. Having a lower credit score DOES NOT mean you will not get a loan. You may qualify BUT your interest rate will be higher than someone with better credit.

How Big Is Your Down-Payment?

down-paymentThe Down-Payment is the amount of your own money you are going to put into buying the property. The more money you put into the property on the front end, the lower the risk of you not paying the payments. The amount of your down payment also directly affects the amount of your loan (purchase price – down payment = loan amount). This is called the Loan to Value Ratio (LTV).

The LTV is the percentage of the value of the house that the mortgage will cover (loan amount / purchase price x 100). For example, the property you are interested in buying is selling for $100,000. You have $20,000 for the down-payment and want a mortgage for the other $80,000. The LTV for this mortgage is 80%.

Similar to the LTV is the Combined Loan to Value Ratio (CLTV). The CLTV is used when 2 loans are used to finance the home purchase. You may see or hear terms like “80-20” or “80-15-5”. This refers to the 1st lien percentage (80), the 2nd lien percentage (20 or 15) and the down payment percentage (5).

How Much Debt Do You Currently Have?

It only makes sense that the more debt you have the riskier the loan is for the lender. There is a finite amount of income in all of our households and it all gets allocated every month. Lenders use a “debt-to-income” ratio to determine how qualified you are for the loan based on how much debt you already have.

debt_to_income_ratioYour Debt to Income Ratio (DTI) is the percentage of your income that you owe in debt on a monthly basis. For example, if you make $5,000 per month, and have debt payments (car loans, credit cards, student loans, etc.) of $2,000, your DTI ratio is 40%. The higher this ratio is, the less likely you will be to qualify for a low interest rate.

Conventional loans typically have a qualifying ratio of 28/36. FHA loans will sometimes allow for a higher debt load of 29/41 qualifying ratio.

The first number in a qualifying ratio is the maximum percentage of your gross monthly income that can be applied to your mortgage. That includes the loan principal and interestprivate mortgage insuranceproperty taxeshomeowners insurance, and homeowner’s association dues.

The second number is the maximum percentage of your gross monthly income that can be applied to housing expenses and recurring debt. Recurring debt includes monthly payments for carsboatsmotorcycleschild support payments and monthly credit card payments.

 Example:  of a 28/36 qualifying ratio:

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .28 = $1400 can be applied to housing.

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .36 = $1,800 can be applied to recurring debt plus housing expenses

Example: of a 29/41 qualifying ratio:

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .29 = $1,450 can be applied to housing.

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .41 = $2,050 can be applied to recurring debt plus housing expenses

These are just general guidelines and everyone’s personal finances are unique. To get the real answer about how well you qualify and to determine how large a mortgage a local lender will offer contact one of our preferred lenders and visit with a loan officer.

Here is a KEY point to remember…

FICO KEYYour credit score is THE most vital piece of information

when qualifying for a loan.

I am a Dave Ramsey fan and I believe in paying cash but even Dave concedes when it comes to buying a house. In Financial Peace Dave calls the FICO score an “I love debt score” and brags about not having one. He even tells a story about trying to rent an apartment and he couldn’t because he doesn’t have a FICO score. He then says, “I can’t rent an apartment because I don’t have a FICO score… I could write a check and buy the whole complex but I can’t rent an apartment because I don’t have a credit score!” Which is a great story for someone that CAN write a check and buy the whole complex… The rest of us need to maintain a really good credit score.

If you’re ready to buy a new home

and want to shop around for the best deal on a mortgage…

Looking for a mortgage, auto or student loan may cause multiple lenders to request your credit report, even though you are only looking for one loan. To compensate for this, the score ignores mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries made in the 30 days prior to scoring. So, if you find a loan within 30 days, the inquiries won’t affect your score while you’re rate shopping. In addition, the score looks on your credit report for mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries older than 30 days. If it finds some, it counts those inquiries that fall in a typical shopping period as just one inquiry when determining your score. For FICO scores calculated from older versions of the scoring formula, this shopping period is any 14 day span. For FICO scores calculated from the newest versions of the scoring formula, this shopping period is any 45 day span. Each lender chooses which version of the FICO scoring formula it wants the credit reporting agency to use to calculate your FICO score.

What Type of Loan Are You Looking For?

40 year fixed, 30 year fixed, 20 year fixed, 15 year fixed, 10 Year Fixed, Adjustable Rate, etc. All of these loan types have different interest rate ranges.

Locking Your Interest Rate

Once you have completed a loan application, determined what type of loan you want and qualified for that loan you can “lock” the interest rate for that loan. Locking the Interest Rate means, for the period of the “lock” you are guaranteed that interest rate. Lock periods are typically 15, 30 or 60 days, although you may be able to get an extended lock period.

Rate LockOnce you lock your interest rate:

If you do not close on the loan before the lock period expires, you will NOT have a guaranteed interest rate anymore. And, the longer the lock period, the higher the rate will be. For example, a 15 day lock may be at 5.125%, a 30 day lock at 5.25%, and a 60 day lock at 5.375%. So, before locking your loan, be sure you are not locking for too long a time or for too short a time.

Interest rates fluctuate daily and may go up or down. By locking your rate, you are betting that rates will go up in the future.

 What does “Buying Down” the Interest Rate Mean?

You can reduce the interest rate on your mortgage by paying “points” at closing. A point is 1% of the value of the loan, so a point on a $200,000 loan is $2,000. If you “buy down” you loan to a lower interest rate you will have lower monthly payments and pay less interest over the life of the loan. However, “buying down” you loan to a lower interest rate means more money out of your pocket on the front end when you close the loan. You should do the math and weigh each side of the equation before making a decision about buying down the interest rate or not.

What Are The Closing Costs and Fees?

Closing CostsThere are four types of closing costs and fees…

Those charged by the mortgage company and/or mortgage broker, those charged by 3rd party vendors, those charged by the Title Company, Escrow Company or Escrow Attorney and Pre-Paid Charges.

Lender Fees

These can include loan origination fees and Broker fees which are usually a percentage of the loan amount; administrative fees and application fees, processing fees and underwriting fees. These last fees usually run from $100 to $500, and ALL of them are negotiable.

3rd Party Vendor charges

These are charges collected by the lender and paid to outside companies that provide a service. These are not usually negotiable and can include appraisal charges, flood certification fees, courier charges, document prep fees, mortgage lender attorney fees, etc.

Title Company charges

These are the fees charged by the Title Company, Escrow Company or Escrow Attorney. They are usually set by the state and are not negotiable. These charges include title insurance, attorney fees, state/county/city registration fees, etc.

Pre-Paid Charges

If the lender will be establishing an escrow account to pay taxes and insurance, the buyer will pre-pay taxes and insurance to establish an escrow account and will pre-pay the interest on the loan until the end of the month in which the loan closes.

 Does The Closing Date Really Matter?

The day you choose to close determines the amount of pre-paid interest you will have to pay. Closing at the end of the month means that you will pay less pre-paid interest. For example, if you close on October 1st you will pay 31 days of pre-paid interest. If you close on October 31st you will pay 1 day of pre-paid interest.

When Is My First Payment Due?

It doesn’t matter what day of the month you close on, you will not have your first loan payment due until a month has passed. So, if you close in October, your first payment is due in December – you get November for free!

What Is PMI?

pmi-basics1Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) is required on all loans that have a LTV greater than 80%. PMI is an insurance premium that you pay every month as part of your monthly payment. However, PMI is not intended to protect you. PMI is insurance coverage that protects the mortgage lender against default on the loan. If you stop making your payments, the mortgage lender is paid a percentage of the loan amount (usually 25% to 35%) by the insurance company.

http://www.emailmeform.com/builder/form/0bfJs9b6bK8TGoc6mQk9hIu

Customer Testimonials

We just moved here the first of January in 2017 from Ohio to the Louisville, KY area and we found Joel’s website online. He was quick to respond to us and got back the same day on our loan approval. He was very knowledgeable about the local market and kept us up-to date throughout the loan process and was a pleasure to meet at closing. Would recommend his services.

Angela Forsythe

“We were searching online for mortgage companies in Louisville, Ky locally to deal with and found Joel’s website, and it was a godsend. He was great to work with, and delivered on everything he said he would do. I ended up referring my co-worker at UPS, and she was very pleased with his service and rates too. Would definitely vouch for him.” September 2016

Monica Leinhardt

“We contacted Joel back in July 2011 to refinance our Mortgage and he was great to work with. We contacted several lenders locally and online, and most where taking almost 60 days to close a refinance, Joel got it done in 23 days start to finish,I would definetly recommmend him. He got us 3.75% with just $900 in closing costs on our FHA Streamline loan.

Kayle Griffin

“Joel is one of the best Mortgage Brokers I have ever worked with in my sixteen years in the real estate and mortgage business.” May 25, 2010

Tim Beck

“Joel has always worked very hard to keep his word and to work out seasonable solutions to difficult problems. He is truly an expert in FHA and other type loans.”

September 1, 2010 Nancy Nalley
“I have worked with Joel since 1998. He is a great loan professional.” I refer most of my Louisville, Kentucky area home buyers to him and he always take special care of them.

August 23, 2012 Jon ClarK

“Joel Lobb is a real professional in the lending industry, with many years of experience, he is the one to go to for any mortgage lending needs.” August 22, 2011

RICHARD VOLZ , Residential Sales , Remax Foursquare Realty
“When looking to purchase our new home in 2006, I had the pleasure of meeting Joel Lobb. Not only was he personable and easy to reach, he was extremely knowledgeable in his field and made sure to find us the best rate and a top notch mortgage company. We were able to complete the process in less than 3 weeks with his expertise. I find Joel to have the utmost high integrity and I recommend him to anyone who say’s they are need of mortgage assistance. He is also fantastic and keeping everyone up to date on the latest in the housing industry through his twitter posts. He provided great results for our family and we still communicate to this day!”

August 21, 2010
Stacie Drake

 

“We first use Joel on our new home purchase in 2007 in St Matthews, Kentucky area and he was great to work with. We have since refinanced our home with him in 2010 when rates got really low and he has always delivered on what he says. I could not imagine using anyone else.”

Melody Glasscock March 2014

 
Absolutely Amazing!! I emailed Joel after I had just got a denial from a bank and just thought i would try to get some advice on what my next steps would be to get a house. I honestly didn’t expect to even get a reply because my credit is not great. That was about a week and a half ago. I just signed a contract on a house last night. ONLY because of Joel Lobb. He even worked with us throughout the weekend, which shocked me. Best decision I have ever made. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR WORKING WITH US THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE PROCESS.
Cee Bellisle August 2017

Contacted him about buying a home and he was great to work with. I was moving to Louisville Ky to take a new job and he walked me through the entire process. He explained to me all the different options for FHA, VA, USDA mortgage loans and credit score requirements versus Fannie Mae. Since I was a first time home buyer I needed alot of help and guidance. I would definitely recommend him. Fast to respond and available to answer questions that I or my realtor had after hours.

 

Anderson Johnson April 2018

 

 

We moved from Michigan to Northern Kentucky area and we were really impressed. We got a USDA loan no money down and closed in less than 3.5 weeks. We shopped around online with other lenders but Joel was always first to respond and his rates were just a little better than other lenders. He kept us informed through the process along with our realtor and there was absolutely no surprises like we heard from other co-workers and friends that they experienced in their loan process. We have already referred another co-worker to Joel . He’s AWESOME!

Patty Kingston June 2018

 

2018 Kentucky First Time Home Buyer Loan Programs


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Down Payment And Closing Cost Assistance Kentucky Housing HHF DAP Funds 


KHC Loan Programs

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MRB

  • All MRB Kentucky Housing first mortgage loans are for a 30-year term at a fixed rate of interest.
  • The home you purchase through Kentucky Housing must be the only residential property you own and you must occupy the home as your principal residence while the loan debt is still outstanding.
  • To qualify, you must meet KHC’s regular MRB income guidelines, make a down payment or qualify for down payment assistance, be a US citizen or legal alien and have an acceptable credit history.
  • Some MRB KHC loans are subject to a federal recapture tax. Recapture is a federal income tax that the borrowers may have to pay if they have considerable growth in their income and they sell or transfer their KHC-financed home within 9 years.  However, KHC has implemented a Recapture Tax Guarantee Program for all loans that close after October 1, 2006.  The Recapture Tax Guarantee Program will reimburse homeowners if they are subject to pay the Federal Recapture Tax on their KHC mortgage loan upon the sale of their home.

Conventional

  • Insured by approved mortgage insurance company.
  • Minimum credit score of 660 or better.
  • Quick turnaround time, 20 percent down payment and no up-front or monthly mortgage insurance.

FHA

  • Insured by the Federal Housing Administration.
  • Down payments as little as 3.5 percent.
  • Can use DAP for 3.5 percent down payment requirement.
  • Upfront and monthly mortgage insurance.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.

VA

  • Guaranteed by the Veterans Administration for qualified military veterans.
  • No down payment if the property appraises for the sale price or greater.
  • Credit underwriting is flexible.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.
  • No monthly mortgage insurance payments.

RHS

  • Guaranteed by Rural Housing Services (RHS).
  • Home must be located in a rural area as defined by RHS.
  • No down payment if the property appraises for the sale price or greater.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.

GNMA Secondary Market

  • All GNMA KHC first mortgage loans are for a 30-year term at a fixed rate of interest.
  • The home you purchase through KHC must be occupied as your principle residence while the loan debt is outstanding.
  • To qualify, you must meet KHC’s GNMA income guidelines, make a down payment, or qualify for down payment assistance, be a U.S. citizen or legal alien and have an acceptable credit history.

FHA

  • Insured by the Federal Housing Administration.
  • Down payments as little as 3.5 percent.
  • Can use DAP for 3.5 percent down payment requirement.
  • Upfront and monthly mortgage insurance.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.

VA

  • Guaranteed by the Veterans Administration for qualified military veterans.
  • No down payment if the property appraises for the sale price or greater.
  • Credit underwriting is flexible.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.
  • No monthly mortgage insurance payments.

RHS

  • Guaranteed by Rural Housing Services (RHS).
  • Home must be located in a rural area as defined by RHS.
  • No down payment if the property appraises for the sale price or greater.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.
Two FHA Refinance Options
  • Credit qualifying Streamline Refinance and Rate/Term Refinance
    • Insured by the Federal Housing Administration
    • Cash back to borrower not to exceed $500
    • Upfront and monthly mortgage insurance
    • Minimum credit score of 620

Home Buyer Tax Credit

KHC’s Home Buyer Tax Credit is available through Mortgage Credit Certificates (MCC), which reduce the amount of federal income tax you pay, giving you more available income to qualify for a mortgage loan.  MCCs are NOT mortgages.  They are tax credits that put extra cash in your pocket each month, so you can more easily afford a house payment.  That means fewer tax dollars will be withheld from your regular paycheck, increasing your take-home pay.  The federal government allows every homeowner an income tax deduction for all the interest paid each year on a mortgage loan.  But an MCC gives you a tax credit of 25 percent (not to exceed $2,000).  You can still deduct the remaining 75 percent interest on your income taxes.  A tax credit is not the same as a tax deduction.  A tax deduction reduces the portion of your income that is taxed, so you pay less.  A tax credit is a direct, dollar for dollar reduction in the total tax you owe.  The MCC is effective for the life of the loan as long as you live in the home.  If you sell your home in the first nine years of ownership, you may be subject to Federal Recapture Tax.  One-time fee of $500 or reduced to $200 if through KHC’s GNMA Secondary Market First Mortgage Program.  Not valid with MRB loan programs.

Special First Mortgage Loan Programs

The Lottery for Special Funding is opened once a year.  The funds are allocated for persons meeting income and all MRB Guidelines.  These limited funds are available, usually in July, on a first-come, first-served basis.
Guidelines
  • Must be a first time home buyer, unless property is located in a targeted county.
  • Interest rate fixed at 3.00 percent based on minimum ratios 29/41 percent.
  • Eligible households:
    • Single parents (at least one dependent under the age of 18 must live in the home.)
    • Households with a person who has a permanent disability and who receives some form of disability income (SSI, SSDI, Veterans Disability etc.).
    • Households where at least one of the home buyers is age 62 or older.
  • Gross Annual Household Income guidelines:
    • $28,000 for a household of 1 or 2 people; or
    • $33,000 for a household of 3 or more people.
  • All household occupants (18 years and older) with income must be included on loan and be credit ready.
  • Must use all but two months’ reserves of borrower’s own funds.
  • Existing or new construction property with a purchase price limit of $115,000
  • Zero Point Rate
  • Only FHA, VA and RHS – 620 credit score and AUS Approval
  • 60 Day Lock
  • Kentucky Housing’s Regular and HOME DAP loan program may be used for down payment and closing cost assistance.
Applying for a Kentucky Housing loan is easy. Just contact one of our approved lenders near you and ask for a Kentucky Housing loan.
http://www.emailmeform.com/builder/form/0bfJs9b6bK8TGoc6mQk9hIu
 
 
 
 
 

Down Payment Closing Cost Assistance

KHC recognizes that down payments, closing costs, and prep​aids are stumbling blocks for many potential home buyers. Here are several loan programs to help. Your KHC-approved lender can help you apply for the program that meets your need.

Not Available – Hardest Hit Fund (HHF) DAP

  • Zero percent interest rate for first-time home buyers.
  • A non-repayable second mortgage for $10,000.
  • Forgiven after five years.
  • Home purchase must be located in Christian, Hardin, Jefferson, or Kenton counties.
  • New construction properties are not allowed.
    • ​Property has to have been previously occupied
  • Applicants must meet Secondary Market or MRB Income and Purchase Price Limits based on funding source.

Regular DAP

  • Purchase price up to $301,294 with Secondary Market or $271,164 with MRB.
  • Assistance in the form of a loan up to $6,000 in $100 increments.
  • Repayable over a ten-year term at 5.50 percent. A DAP of $6,000 over ten years at 5.50 percent interest would equal a payment of $65.12.
  • Available to all KHC first-mortgage loan recipients.

Affordable DAP

  • Purchase price up to $301,294 with Secondary Market or $271,164 with MRB.
  • Assistance up to $4,500.
  • Repayable over a ten-year term at 1.00 percent.
  • Borrowers must meet Affordable DAP income limits.

More about down payment and closing costs

  • No liquid asset review and no limit on borrower reserves.
  • Specific credit underwriting standards may apply to down payment programs.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Joel Lobb (NMLS#57916)
Senior  Loan Officer
 
American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
10602 Timberwood Circle Suite 3
Louisville, KY 40223
Company ID #1364 | MB73346
 


Text/call 502-905-3708
kentuckyloan@gmail.com

http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
Disclaimer: No statement on this site is a commitment to make a loan. Loans are subject to borrower qualifications, including income, property evaluation, sufficient equity in the home to meet Loan-to-Value requirements, and final credit approval. Approvals are subject to underwriting guidelines, interest rates, and program guidelines and are subject to change without notice based on applicant’s eligibility and market conditions. Refinancing an existing loan may result in total finance charges being higher over the life of a loan. Reduction in payments may reflect a longer loan term. Terms of any loan may be subject to payment of points and fees by the applicant  Equal Opportunity Lender. NMLS#57916 http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
 
— Some products and services may not be available in all states. Credit and collateral are subject to approval. Terms and conditions apply. This is not a commitment to lend. Programs, rates, terms and conditions are subject to change without notice. The content in this marketing advertisement has not been approved, reviewed, sponsored or endorsed by any department or government agency. Rates are subject to change and are subject to borrower(s) qualification.

Fill out my form!

 

 

 

Source: http://www.mylouisvillekentuckymortgage.com/2012/08/khc-loan-programs.html

$10,000 Down payment Assistance Grant for Kentucky First Time Home buyers 2019


$10,000 Down payment Assistance Grant for Kentucky First Time Home buyers 2019

As of right now ,December 2018, there is no $10,000 Grant for Kentucky Home Buyers. See current down payment assistance grants available now, this is subject to change through the year so check back periodically. 

 

 

There are some other Kentucky  down payment assistance programs available now to buy a home no money down so ready on below:
 
 
 
Kentucky First Time Home Buyer Common Questions and Answers:

 

∘ What kind of credit score do I need to qualify for different first time home buyer loans in Kentucky?

Answer. Most lenders will wants a middle credit score of 620 for KY First Time Home Buyers looking to go no money down. The two most used no money down home loans in Kentucky being USDA Rural Housing and KHC with their down payment assistance will want a 620 middle score on their programs.

If you have access to 3.5% down payment, you can go FHA and secure a 30 year fixed rate mortgage with some lenders with a 580 credit score. Even though FHA on paper says they will go down to 500 credit score with at least 10% down payment, you will find it hard to get the loan approved because lenders will create overlays to protect their interest and maintain a good standing with FHA and HUD.

Another popular no money down loan is VA. Most VA lenders will want a 620 middle credit score but like FHA, VA on paper says they will go down to a 500 score, but good luck finding a lender for that scenario.

A lot of times if your scores are in the high 500’s or low 600’s range, we can do a rapid rescore and get your scores improved within 30 days.

 

 Does it costs anything to get pre-approved for a mortgage loan?

 

Answer: Most lenders will not charge you a fee to get pre-approved, but some lenders may want you to pay for the credit report fee upfront. Typically costs for a tri-merge credit report for a single borrower runs about $50 or less. Maybe higher if more borrowers are included on the loan application.
∘ How long does it take to get approved for a mortgage loan in Kentucky?

Answer: Typically if you have all your income and asset documents together and submit to the lender, they typically can get you a pre-approval through the Automated Underwriting Systems within 24 hours. They will review credit, income and assets and run it through the different AUS (Automated Underwriting Systems) for the template for your loan pre-approval. Fannie Mae uses DU, or Desktop Underwriting, FHA and VA also use DU, and USDA uses a automated system called GUS. GUS stands for the Guaranteed Underwriting System.

If you get an Automated Approval, loan officers will use this for your pre-approval. If you have a bad credit history, high debt to income ratios,  or lack of down payment,  the AUS will sometimes refer the loan to a manual underwrite, which could result in a longer turn time for your loan pre-approval answer

 Are there any special programs in Kentucky that help with down payment or no money down loans for KY First Time Home Buyers?

Answer: There are some programs available to KY First Time Home Buyers that offer zero down financing: KHC, USDA, VA, Fannie Mae Home Possible and HomePath, HUD $100 down and City Grants are all available to Kentucky First Time Home buyers if you qualify for them. Ask your loan officer about these programs
∘ When can I lock in my interest rate to protect it from going up when I buy my first home?

Answer: You typically can lock in your mortgage rate and protect it from going up once you have a home picked-out and under contract. You can usually lock in your mortgage rate for free for 90 days, and if you need more time, you can extend the lock in rate for a fee to the lender in case the home buying process is taking a longer time. The longer the term you lock the rate in the future, the higher the costs because the lender is taking a risk on rates in the future.

Interest rates are kinda like gas prices, they change daily, and the general trend is that they have been going up since the Presidential election in November 2016.
∘ How much money do I need to pay to close the loan?

Answer: Depending on which loan program you choose, the outlay to close the loan can vary. Typically you will need to budget for the following to buy a home: Good faith deposit, usually less than $500 which holds the home for you while you close the loan. You get this back at closing; Appraisal fee is required to be paid to lender before closing. Typical costs run around $400-$450 for an appraisal fee; home inspection fees. Even though the lender’s programs don’t require a home inspection, a lot of buyers do get one done. The costs for a home inspection runs around $300-$400. Lastly, termite report. They are very cheap, usually $50 or less, and VA requires one on their loan programs. FHA, KHC, USDAS, Fannie Mae does not require a termite report, but most borrowers get one done.

There are also lender costs for title insurance, title exam, closing fee, and underwriting fees that will be incurred at closing too. You can negotiated the seller to pay for these fees in the contract, or sometimes the lender can pay for this with a lender credit.

The lender has to issue a breakdown of the fees you will incur on your loan pre-approval.
How long is my pre-approval good for on a Kentucky Mortgage Loan?

Answer: Most lenders will honor your loan pre-approval for 60 days. After that, they will have to re-run your credit report and ask for updated pay stubs, bank statements, to make sure your credit quality and income and assets has not changed from the initial loan pre-approval.

 

How much money do I have to make to qualify for a mortgage loan in Kentucky?

Answer: The general rule for most FHA, VA, KHC, USDA and Fannie MAe loans is that we run your loan application through the Automated Underwriting systems, and it will tell us your max loan qualifying ratios.

There are two ratios that matter when you qualify for a mortgage loan. The front-end ratio, is the new house payment divided by your gross monthly income.  The back-end ratio, is the new house payment added to your current monthly bills on the credit report, to include child support obligations and 401k loans.

Car insurance, cell phone bills, utilities bills does not factor into your qualifying rations.

If the loan gets a refer on the initial desktop underwriting findings, then most programs will default to a front end ratio of 31% and a back-end ratio of 43% for most government agency loans that get a refer. You then take the lowest payment to qualify based on the front-end and back-end ratio.

So for example, let’s say you make $3000 a month and you have $400 in monthly bills you pay on the credit report. What would be your maximum qualifying house payment for a new loan?

Take the $3000 x .43%= $1290 maximum back-end ratio house payment. So take the $1290-$400= $890 max house payment you qualify for on the back-end ratio.

Then take the $3000 x .31%=$930 maximum qualifying house payment on front-end ratio.

So now your know! The max house payment you would qualify would be the $890, because it is the lowest payment of the two ratios.

 

  •  
  • Minimum 620 Credit Score
  • Max Purchase Price Limit of $283,000
  • Max Household Income Limits of $117,250
  • Must provide 3 years tax returns to prove a first time home buyer in Louisville KY
  • Must complete an online home buying course
  • Max debt to income ratios of 40 and 45% respectively with Approved Eligible Findings
  • No Bankruptcies last 2 years for FHA
 
 

 

 
Kentucky Mortgage Programs For First-Time Buyers in Kentucky

Apply Here Free!

 
 
 
 
 
Kentucky First Time Home Buyer Programs for 2019
 
There are basically 5 popular programs that Kentucky Home buyers use to purchase their first home.
 
 
 
 
• At least 3%-5% down
 
 Closing costs will vary on which rate you choose and the lender. Typically the higher the rate, the lesser closing costs due to the lender giving you a lender credit back at closing for over par pricing. Also, called a no-closing costs option. You have to weigh the pros and cons to see if it makes sense to forgo the lower rate and lower monthly payment for the higher rate and less closing costs.
 
Fico scores needed start at 620, but most conventional lenders will want a higher score to qualify for the 3-5% minimum down payment requirements Most buyers using this loan have high credit scores (over 720) and at least 5% down.
 
The rates are a little higher compared to FHA, VA, or USDA loan but the mortgage insurance is not for life of loan and can be rolled off when you reach 80% equity position in home.
 
Conventional loans require 4-7 years removed from Bankruptcy and foreclosure.
 
Max Conventional loan limits are set at $484,500 for 2019 in Kentucky
 
 
If you meet income eligibility requirements and are looking to settle in a rural area, you might qualify for the KY USDA Rural Housing program. The program guarantees qualifying loans, reducing lenders’ risk and encouraging them to offer buyers 100% loans. That means Kentucky home buyers don’t have to put any money down, and even the “upfront fee” (a closing cost for this type of loan) can be rolled into the financing.
 
Fico scores usually wanted for this program center around 620 range, with most lenders wanting a 640 score so they can obtain an automated approval through GUS. GUS stands for the Guaranteed Underwriting system, and it will dictate your max loan pre-approval based on your income, credit scores, debt to income ratio and assets.
 
They also allow for a manual underwrite, which states that the max house payment ratios are set at 29% and 41% respectively of your income.
 
They loan requires no down payment, and the current mortgage insurance is 1% upfront, called a funding fee, and .35% annually for the monthly mi payment. Since they recently reduced their mi requirements, USDA is one of the best options out there for home buyers looking to buy in an rural area.
 
A rural area typically will be any area outside the major cities of Louisville, Lexington, Paducah, Bowling Green, Richmond, Frankfort, and parts of Northern  Kentucky .
 
There is a map link below to see the qualifying areas.
 
There is also a max household income limits with most cutoff starting at $76,000 for a family of four, and up to $98,000 for a family of five or more.
 
USDA requires 3 years removed from bankruptcy and foreclosure.
 
There is no max USDA loan limit.
 
 
FHa loans are good for home buyers with lower credit scores and no much down, or with down payment assistance grants. FHA will allow for grants, gifts, for their 3.5% minimum investment and will go down to a 580 credit score.
 
The current mortgage insurance requirements are kinda steep when compared to USDA, VA , but the rates are usually good so it can counteracts the high mi premiums. As I tell borrowers, you will not have the loan for 30 years, so don’t worry too much about the mi premiums.
 
THe mi premiums are for life of loan like USDA.
 
FHA requires 2 years removed from bankruptcy and 3 years removed from foreclosure.
 
Maximum FHA loan limits in Kentucky are set around $285,000 and below.
 
 
VA loans are for veterans and active duty military personnel. The loan requires no down payment and no monthly mi premiums, saving you on the monthly payment. It does have an funding fee like USDA, but it is higher starting at 2% for first time use, and 3% for second time use. The funding fee is financed into the loan, so it is not something you have to pay upfront out of pocket.
 
VA loans can be made anywhere, unlike the USDA restrictions, and there is no income household limit and the max loan is $417,000 in Kentucky
 
Most VA lenders I work with will want a 620 credit score though I am setup with lenders that will go down to a 560 credit score if I can get it approved.
 
VA requires 2 years removed from bankruptcy or foreclosure.
 
 
 
 
 
This type of loan is administered  by KHC in the state of Kentucky. They typically have $4500 to $6000 down payment assistance year around, that is in the form of a second mortgage that you pay back over 10 years.
 
Sometimes they will come to market with other down payment assistance and lower market rates to benefit lower income households with not a lot of money for down payment.
 
KHC offers FHA, VA, USDA, and Conventional loans with their minimum credit scores being set at 620 for all programs. The conventional loan requirements at KHC requires 660 credit score.
 
 

Kentucky Home Buyers

 
 Effective with new reservations as of Monday, January , 2019, properties located in one of the counties considered Middle Appalachia or Lower Mississippi Delta will have access to a $1,500 closing cost grant. Borrowers must be under the specific income limits per the Duty to Serve (DTS) program.
KHC recognizes that down payments, closing costs, and prepaids are stumbling blocks for many potential home buyers. Here are several loan programs to help. Your KHC-approved lender can help you apply for the program that meets your need.

Hardest Hit Fund (HHF) DAP For Kentucky 2019

Available to Christian County only 11/15/2018

  • Zero percent interest rate for first-time home buyers.
  • A non-repayalbe second mortgage for $10,000.
  • Forgiven after five years.
  • Home purchase must be located in Christian county.
    • No other counties will be eligible.
  • New construction properties are not allowed.
    • Property has to have been previously occupied.
  • Applicants must meet Secondary Market Income and Purchase Price Limit.

Regular DAP for Kentucky Home Buyers in 2019

  • Purchase price up to $301,294 with Secondary Market.
  • Assistance in the form of a loan up to $6,000 in $100 increments.
  • Repayable over a ten-year term at 5.50 percent.
  • Available to all KHC first-mortgage loan recipients.

Affordable DAP for Kentucky Home Buyers in 2019

  • Purchase price up to $301,294 with Secondary Market.
  • Assistance up to $6,000.
  • Repayable over a ten-year term at 1.00 percent.
  • Borrowers must meet Affordable DAP income limits.

More about down payment and closing costs

  • No liquid asset review and no limit on borrower reserves.
  • Specific credit underwriting standards may apply to down payment programs.
 
 
 
 
 
This type of loan is administered  by KHC in the state of Kentucky. They typically have $4500 to $6000 down payment assistance year around, that is in the form of a second mortgage that you pay back over 10 years.
 
Sometimes they will come to market with other down payment assistance and lower market rates to benefit lower income households with not a lot of money for down payment.
 
KHC offers FHA, VA, USDA, and Conventional loans with their minimum credit scores being set at 620 for all programs. The conventional loan requirements at KHC requires 660 credit score.
 
The max debt to income ratios are set at 40% an 50% respectively.
 
 
 
 

Customer Testimonials

 

We just moved here the first of January in 2017 from Ohio to the Louisville, KY area and we found Joel’s website online. He was quick to respond to us and got back the same day on our loan approval. He was very knowledgeable about the local market and kept us up-to date throughout the loan process and was a pleasure to meet at closing. Would recommend his services.

 

Angela Forsythe

 

“We were searching online for mortgage companies in Louisville, Ky locally to deal with and found Joel’s website, and it was a godsend. He was great to work with, and delivered on everything he said he would do. I ended up referring my co-worker at UPS, and she was very pleased with his service and rates too. Would definitely vouch for him.” September 2016

 

Monica Leinhardt

“We contacted Joel back in July 2011 to refinance our Mortgage and he was great to work with. We contacted several lenders locally and online, and most where taking almost 60 days to close a refinance, Joel got it done in 23 days start to finish,I would definetly recommmend him. He got us 3.75% with just $900 in closing costs on our FHA Streamline loan.

Kayle Griffin

“Joel is one of the best Mortgage Brokers I have ever worked with in my sixteen years in the real estate and mortgage business.” May 25, 2010

Tim Beck

“Joel has always worked very hard to keep his word and to work out seasonable solutions to difficult problems. He is truly an expert in FHA and other type loans.” September 1, 2010

Nancy Nalley
“I have worked with Joel since 1998. He is a great loan professional.” I refer most of my Louisville, Kentucky area home buyers to him and he always take special care of them. August 23, 2012
Jon ClarK

“Joel Lobb is a real professional in the lending industry, with many years of experience, he is the one to go to for any mortgage lending needs.” August 22, 2011

RICHARD VOLZ , Residential Sales , Remax Foursquare Realty
“When looking to purchase our new home in 2006, I had the pleasure of meeting Joel Lobb. Not only was he personable and easy to reach, he was extremely knowledgable in his field and made sure to find us the best rate and a top notch mortgage company. We were able to complete the process in less than 3 weeks with his expertise. I find Joel to have the utmost high integrity and I recommend him to anyone who say’s they are need of mortgage assistance. He is also fantastic and keeping everyone up to date on the latest in the housing industry through his twitter posts. He provided great results for our family and we still communicate to this day!” August 21, 2010
Stacie Drake

“We first use Joel on our new home purchase in 2007 in St Matthews, Kentucky area and he was great to work with. We have since refinanced our home with him in 2010 when rates got really low and he has always delivered on what he says. I could not imagine using anyone else.”

Melody Glasscock March 2014

 
Absolutely Amazing!! I emailed Joel after I had just got a denial from a bank and just thought i would try to get some advice on what my next steps would be to get a house. I honestly didn’t expect to even get a reply because my credit is not great. That was about a week and a half ago. I just signed a contract on a house last night. ONLY because of Joel Lobb. He even worked with us throughout the weekend, which shocked me. Best decision I have ever made. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR WORKING WITH US THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE PROCESS.
 
Cee Bellisle August 2017
 

Contacted him about buying a home and he was great to work with. I was moving to Louisville Ky to take a new job and he walked me through the entire process. He explained to me all the different options for FHA, VA, USDA mortgage loans and credit score requirements versus Fannie Mae. Since I was a first time home buyer I needed alot of help and guidance. I would definitely recommend him. Fast to respond and available to answer questions that I or my realtor had after hours.

Anderson Johnson June 2018

We moved from Michigan to Northern Kentucky area and we were really impressed. We got a USDA loan no money down and closed in less than 3.5 weeks. We shopped around online with other lenders but Joel was always first to respond and his rates were just a little better than other lenders. He kept us informed through the process along with our realtor and there was absolutely no surprises like we heard from other co-workers and friends that they experienced in their loan process. We have already referred another co-worker to Joel . He’s AWESOME!

Patty Kingston

 

 
American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
10602 Timberwood Circle Suite 3
Louisville, KY 40223
Company ID #1364 | MB73346
 


Text/call 502-905-3708
kentuckyloan@gmail.com

 
http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
 
If you are an individual with disabilities who needs accommodation, or you are having difficulty using our website to apply for a loan, please contact us at 502-905-3708.

Disclaimer: No statement on this site is a commitment to make a loan. Loans are subject to borrower qualifications, including income, property evaluation, sufficient equity in the home to meet Loan-to-Value requirements, and final credit approval. Approvals are subject to underwriting guidelines, interest rates, and program guidelines and are subject to change without notice based on applicant’s eligibility and market conditions. Refinancing an existing loan may result in total finance charges being higher over the life of a loan. Reduction in payments may reflect a longer loan term. Terms of any loan may be subject to payment of points and fees by the applicant  Equal Opportunity Lender. NMLS#57916http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/

— Some products and services may not be available in all states. Credit and collateral are subject to approval. Terms and conditions apply. This is not a commitment to lend. Programs, rates, terms and conditions are subject to change without notice. The content in this marketing advertisement has not been approved, reviewed, sponsored or endorsed by any department or government agency. Rates are subject to change and are subject to borrower(s) qualification.

 



Joel Lobb
Mortgage Loan Officer
Individual NMLS ID #57916
 
American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
 

Text/call:      502-905-3708

fax:            502-327-9119
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Down Payment Assistance Kentucky First Time Homebuyer Program


 

 

 

via Down Payment Assistance Kentucky First Time Homebuyer Program

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