Tag: Credit score

Credit Scores Needed To Qualify For A Kentucky Mortgage Loan Approval?


via Credit Scores Needed To Qualify For A Kentucky Mortgage Loan Approval?

How to qualify for a Kentucky FHA Home Loan ?
How to qualify for a Kentucky FHA Home Loan ?

 

 

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USDA , Fannie Mae Home Loans In "Credit Scores and Credit Report" What Credit Score do You Need to qualify for a FHA VA KHC USDA Kentucky Mortgage

Latest FHA shift to mitigate risks may shut out some Kentucky home buyers wanting FHA Loans in 2019

Latest FHA shift to mitigate risks may shut out some Kentucky home buyers wanting FHA Loans in 2019


via Latest FHA shift to mitigate risks may shut out some Kentucky home buyers wanting FHA Loans in 2019

Latest FHA shift to mitigate risks may shut out some Kentucky home buyers wanting FHA Loans in 2019

Kentucky FHA Loan Changes for FICO Scores and Credit Scores for 2019

 

Last week, the Federal Housing Administration took steps to mitigate risks to its single-family portfolio, announcing updates to its TOTAL Mortgage Scorecard that may flag some loans for manual underwriting.
The change applies to all loans with case numbers assigned on or after March 18th, meaning that it is likely to affect some of the loans currently sitting in an FHA lender’s pipeline.
Chatter among members of the lending community suggests a number of originators are unhappy about the changes, fearing that the end result may be that some of their borrowers will be shut out of FHA financing.
Some said the FHA did not go about implementing the changes the right way, creating confusion about how the risk is being mitigated, while others said they felt as if the rug had been pulled out from under them, and fear that borrowers who no longer qualify will be angry, according to email exchanges between lenders and mortgage brokers, shared with HousingWire.
For its part, the FHA said it is taking necessary steps to address some of the risk trends apparent in its single-family portfolio and flagged as concerning in its 2018 Report to Congress.
Specifically, FHA loans have seen a substantial increase in cash-out refinances, a drop in the average borrower credit score, and an increase in borrowers with high debt-to-income ratios.
In its letter about the Scorecard updates, the FHA said that the number of FHA refinances that are cash-outs increased 60% in 2018, and that almost a quarter of all FHA loans in 2018 had a DTI ratio above 50%.
The average credit scores for FHA borrowers has also declined, falling to 670 in 2018 – the lowest average since 2008.
Combined, these factors are signaling untenable risk for the agency as they flag the potential for the program to drain the Mutual Mortgage Insurance Fund.
“Federal Housing Commissioner Montgomery has publicly stated numerous times in recent months that FHA must seek the right balance between managing risk and fulfilling its mission of supporting sustainable home-ownership,” the FHA said in its letter.
“To be successful long term, FHA must maintain the integrity of its insurance endorsements,” it continued. “This includes assessing the causes of the increase in higher-risk credit characteristics in the portfolio and making prudent and necessary changes to re calibrate and adjust its policies as warranted to manage credit risk.”
The agency said the updates to its Scorecard are just the first step it will be taking to address these risk factors.
“FHA will carefully monitor the impact of this change and is preparing to implement additional changes to maintain a better balance of managing risk and fulfilling its mission,” the agency stated.

 

I can answer your questions and usually get you pre-approved the same day. 


Call or Text me at 502-905-3708 with your mortgage questions.
Email Kentuckyloan@gmail.com

Joel Lobb
Mortgage Loan Officer
Individual NMLS ID #57916
 
American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
10602 Timberwood Circle 
Louisville, KY 40223
Company NMLS ID #1364

Text/call:      502-905-3708

fax:            502-327-9119
email:
          kentuckyloan@gmail.com
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.emailmeform.com/builder/form/0bfJs9b6bK8TGoc6mQk9hIu
 
Joel Lobb (NMLS#57916)
Senior  Loan Officer
 
American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
10602 Timberwood Circle Suite 3
Louisville, KY 40223
Company ID #1364 | MB73346
 


Text/call 502-905-3708
kentuckyloan@gmail.com

http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
Disclaimer: No statement on this site is a commitment to make a loan. Loans are subject to borrower qualifications, including income, property evaluation, sufficient equity in the home to meet Loan-to-Value requirements, and final credit approval. Approvals are subject to underwriting guidelines, interest rates, and program guidelines and are subject to change without notice based on applicant’s eligibility and market conditions. Refinancing an existing loan may result in total finance charges being higher over the life of a loan. Reduction in payments may reflect a longer loan term. Terms of any loan may be subject to payment of points and fees by the applicant  Equal Opportunity Lender. NMLS#57916 http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
 
— Some products and services may not be available in all states. Credit and collateral are subject to approval. Terms and conditions apply. This is not a commitment to lend. Programs, rates, terms and conditions are subject to change without notice. The content in this marketing advertisement has not been approved, reviewed, sponsored or endorsed by any department or government agency. Rates are subject to change and are subject to borrower(s) qualification.

 

What kind of credit score do I need to qualify for a Kentucky Mortgage Loan in 2019?


 What kind of credit score do I need to qualify for a Kentucky Mortgage Loan in 2019?

Credit scores play an important part in getting approved for a Kentucky Mortgage loan. Your credit scores consist of 3 digits and range anywhere from the low-end of 300 to a high score of 800 range on the top-end. Most borrowers are going to fall in the 500, 600, 700 range, with a few in the 300 and 800 ranges.
 The higher the score the better it is for chances of getting approved for a Kentucky Mortgage loan and getting better terms as far as rates, closing costs and mortgage insurance.
There are three main credit bureaus in the United States that lenders will pull from Experian, Equifax, Transunion. Most loan programs will take your middle score. So For example, if you have 629 on transunion, 690 on equifax, and 577 on Experian, your middle credit score would be 629.
The credit score that mortgage lenders use is the fico score. They’re different credit scoring models out there, so keep that in mind, that even though you may get your credit score from Credit Karma or Credit Sesame, this is not your true fico scores that lenders use in Kentucky to approve you for a mortgage loan.
Credit Score vs Credit Karma: what’s the difference?
crekit harma vs credit sesame.jpg

Different Kentucky Home Loan Programs require different credit score requirements. I will discuss each below:

  • Kentucky FHA Mortgage loan credit score requirements:
  • The minimum credit score is 500 for Kentucky FHA loans. However please keep in mind these two things: 1. Lenders credit their own overlays to increase the credit score threshold, most being 620, and secondly, if your credit score is below 580, you would need 10% minimum down payment,  and if the credit score is over 580, then you can go with the minimum 3.5% down payment.
  • Obviously if you have a higher credit score, this will increase your chances of getting approved for a Kentucky FHA Mortgage and possibly better rates and closing costs options.
  • Kentucky VA Mortgage  loans requirements : 
  • VA does not have a minimum credit score requirement, but if the credit score is below 620 few lenders will do the loan, but I am set up with several Kentucky VA lenders where I have closed them down to a 560 credit score, but the borrower had good compensating factors such as: large down payment, low dti ratios, good job history and good residual income with no previous bankruptcies or foreclosures.
  • I would suggest if your credit scores are below 580, I would suggest on working on getting the scores up before you applied for a VA mortgage loan.
  • A lot of lenders will do a rapid rescore which in some cases can increase your credit scores in as little  as 7-10 working days.
  • The federal Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) guarantees loans for current and former members of the military and their families. VA loans provide very favorable terms to eligible borrowers and have limited qualifying requirements. You can get a VA loan with no down payment so long as the home isn’t worth more than you pay for it, and there’s no minimum credit score to qualify. You also don’t have to pay for mortgage insurance, although you do have to pay an up-front funding fee of of between .5% and 3.3% of the loan amount unless you fall within an exception for disabled vets or military widows or widowers.
  • Kentucky USDA Mortgage credit score requirements: 
  • According to their guidelines, USDA will go down to a 580 credit score, but most lenders will want a 640 credit score. USDA uses an online system to underwrite the risk of the loan, and scores under 640 are very difficult to get approved.
  • Validating the Credit Score.  Two or more eligible tradelines are necessary to validate an applicant’s credit report score.  Eligible tradelines consist of credit accounts (revolving, installment etc.) with at least 12 months of repayment history reported on the credit report.  At least one applicant whose income or assets are used for qualification must have a valid credit report score
  • The Rural Housing Service (RHS) operates under the federal Department of Agriculture to guarantee loans for rural home-buyers with limited income who can’t obtain conventional financing. The upside is that Kentucky USDA loans require no down payment. The downside is that they charge a steep up-front fee of 1% of the loan amount (which can be paid off over the entire loan term) and an annual fee of 0.35%.
  • Credit score over 680:  Perform a basic level of underwriting to confirm the applicant has an acceptable credit reputation.  Perform additional analysis if the applicant’s credit history has indicators of unacceptable credit as noted in Paragraph 10.7 of this Chapter.
  • Credit score 679 to 640:  Perform a comprehensive level of underwriting.  Underwrite all aspects of the applicant’s credit history to establish the applicant has an acceptable credit reputation.  Credit scores in this range indicate the applicant’s reputation is uncertain and will require a thorough analysis by the underwriter of the credit to draw a logical conclusion about the applicant’s commitment to making payments on the new mortgage obligation.  The applicant’s credit history should demonstrate his or her past willingness and ability to meet credit obligations.
  • Credit score less than 640:  Perform a cautious level of underwriting.  Perform a detailed review of all aspects of the applicant’s credit history to establish the applicant’s willingness to repay and ability to manage obligations as agreed.  Unless there are extenuating circumstances documented in accordance with this Chapter, a credit score in this range is generally viewed as a strong indication that the applicant does not have an acceptable credit reputation.
  • Little or no credit history: The lack of credit history on the credit report may be mitigated if the applicant can document a willingness to pay recurring debts through other acceptable means such as third party verifications or cancelled checks. Due to impartiality issues, third party verifications from relatives of household members are not permissible.   Lenders can develop a Non-Traditional Credit Report for applicants who do not have a credit score in accordance with Paragraph 10.6 of this Chapter
Kentucky Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac Conventional Credit Score Requirements
These are considered “conventional loans’ that can be often be obtained with a 3% to 5% down payment. Of course, there are higher standards for conventional home financing. The most common minimum credit score requirement to get approved today is a 620 FICO. This type of score is typical for people that have high credit card balances or a few delinquent payments in their past. The general consensus on Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae loans in Kentucky is that a 620 score is the entry-point to qualify, but you will need a thorough documentation of income with credit scores in the 620 to 640 range. You will have a better shot to be approved for a mortgage backed by Fannie or Freddie with a 680-credit score and less strenuous underwriting.
  • Competitive Mortgage Rates and Fees
  • Monthly Mortgage Insurance Is Not Always Required
  • Ideal for First Time Home Buyers with Good Credit
Common Misconceptions About Credit Scoring
Credit scoring is a mystery to many and it even surprises us occasionally.  Below are examples of common misconceptions we hear all the time
If I pay off my balance every month so it should show a zero balance on my credit report:  Wrong!
Credit card companies will usually report your ending balance on your monthly statement. So even if you pay off your credit card every month, it will not show a zero balance on credit. A bad scenario for someone’s score would be the following: Credit limit is $1,000 and the card owner charges $900 but pays off the balance once the statement is received. The card will report a $900 balance that is 90% of the credit limit and that will hurt the credit score as 30% of a credit score is balance compared to credit limits as a percentage.
I will lower my credit limits to make my credit look better.  Wrong!
Do not put your credit limits too low! Again, 30% of your score is balance compared to credit limits. For instance if you charge $1000 per month on a $10,000 limit card, the balance is 10% of the limit which is very good. On the other hand, if you lower the limit to $1500, the balance is 67% of the limit which hurts the credit score.
I will close my credit cards to help my credit report.  Wrong!  most of the time
Having a good mix of credit types is very important to have a great credit score. I will say this again, 30% of the score is balance compared to credit limits on revolving accounts and if someone doesn’t have any open cards, then a lot of points are being lost on a score. Most experts say that having 2 or 3 revolving accounts that report to all 3 bureaus with low balances compared to the limits is the magic number for the best score. Also a portion of the credit score is how long accounts are open so keep the lines of credit open a very long time rather than opening and then closing accounts often
What if underwriting will require me to pay off a collection to approve my loan, Am I stuck?  No
Then all you need to do is simply have to do it have it as a condition to pay off the collection at closing rather than up-front.  By doing this, it will not have time to lower your credit score before closing your loan.
I haven’t paid my student loans in years because they are in collection status, but that was a long time ago so I’m ok, right?  No
Unfortunately if they are government backed loans, then this will affect your ability to obtain a government mortgage loan.  A good thing about government student loans is that they will usually allow you to start paying them again, then usually within 6 – 12 months, they will report the loan again as current.  Make sure that the company agrees to do this and get it in writing.  By doing this, you can go from owing Thousands of dollars as a collection to having a regular loan with hopefully a manageable payment.
I just got a car loan, so my credit should be good.  Not necessarily
I hate to say it, but about anyone can get a car loan no matter how bad the credit is so this is not an indication of good credit. Having an installment loan like a car loan is a good thing to have on credit as long as it is paid on time and the longer it has reported, the better. As a side note, be wary of buying a car and the dealership pulling your credit without your knowledge to many creditors. It is not uncommon for someone with marginal or sometimes good credit to have their credit pulled 10 times or more.
I will pay off my old collections just before applying for a mortgage so my scores will go up.  Usually your scores will go down unless they agree to “delete” or “remove” them from your credit in writing
Be careful here! If there are older collections with a date of last activity that is a while back and they are paid off, the credit scores can go down in the short term. So if someone has a 650 credit score which would qualify for most mortgages, wants to increase their scores a little by paying off old collections just before purchasing a home, the collections would now show paid off (if they actually update which they often don’t), but now show a date of last activity as “now”. It doesn’t make sense but the bureaus treat the collection activity like it just happened which doesn’t seem right but it happens. Often it makes more sense to pay off the collections at or prior to closing following the recommendation of the loan officer.  Fair Isaac is working on potential changes to how this affects scores and maybe the other credit bureaus will make this change too.
Charged off accounts and collections are treated the same when getting a mortgage, right?  Actually NO
Sometimes when an account is charged off, it is not required to be paid off for qualifying purposes.  This is true on FHA loans for instance.
I will dispute some credit accounts on my credit report so my scores will go up.
Read the article below on how dispute language can hurt you when applying for a mortgage.
If you want a personalized answer for your unique situation call, text, or email me or visit my website below:

Joel Lobb
Mortgage Loan Officer

Individual NMLS ID #57916

American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
10602 Timberwood Circle 
Louisville, KY 40223
Company NMLS ID #1364

Text/call: 502-905-3708

email: kentuckyloan@gmail.com

If you are an individual with disabilities who needs accommodation, or you are having difficulty using our website to apply for a loan, please contact us at 502-905-3708.
Disclaimer: No statement on this site is a commitment to make a loan. Loans are subject to borrower qualifications, including income, property evaluation, sufficient equity in the home to meet Loan-to-Value requirements, and final credit approval. Approvals are subject to underwriting guidelines, interest rates, and program guidelines and are subject to change without notice based on applicant’s eligibility and market conditions. Refinancing an existing loan may result in total finance charges being higher over the life of a loan. Reduction in payments may reflect a longer loan term. Terms of any loan may be subject to payment of points and fees by the applicant  Equal Opportunity Lender. NMLS#57916http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
— Some products and services may not be available in all states. Credit and collateral are subject to approval. Terms and conditions apply. This is not a commitment to lend. Programs, rates, terms and conditions are subject to change without notice. The content in this marketing advertisement has not been approved, reviewed, sponsored or endorsed by any department or government agency. Rates are subject to change and are subject to borrower(s) qualification.

 

Kentucky FHA Loans Compared to Kentucky Conventional Loans


via Kentucky FHA Loans Compared to Kentucky Conventional Loans

 

Kentucky FHA Loans Compared to Kentucky Conventional Loans

 

When it comes to financing a home a buyer is faced with the decision of what type of loan they want. The two most common choices are FHA or Conventional. Both have their advantages and disadvantages. Follow the chart below to see which one is a fit for you!

For more information on homes available for FHA or Conventional

Which Loan is better for you?

Kentucky FHA Loans are good for borrowers who have the following:

• Credit scores less than 680.
• Less than 5% down payment and no reserves to use.
• Borrowers with past foreclosures between 3 and 7 years old.
• Borrowers with past short sales between 2 and 4 years old.
• Borrowers who need a gift for the down payment and/or closing costs, prepaid taxes and
insurance.
The FHA Mortgage Insurance premium is a premium that exists for the FHA Loan that is
paid up front and monthly by the homebuyer. This premium protects the lender should the
buyer default. They vary per state and per type of loan Kentucky home buyers qualify for. In Kentucky, upfront mortgage insurance premiums are 1.75%.
Below are the rates per type of loan:
• 15-Year Fixed with down payment more than 10%: .45%
• 15-Year Fixed with down payment less than 10%: .70%
• 30-Year Fixed with down payment more than 5%: .80%
• 30-Year Fixed with down payment less than 5%: .85%

Kentucky Conventional loans are usually reserved for the following:

• Credit scores greater than 680
• Greater than or equal to  5% down payment with reserves
• Borrowers with past foreclosures over 7 years old.
• Borrowers with past short sales between 5-7 years old.
• Borrowers who have a lot of money saved up and want to get rid of mortgage insurance within the first 5 years give or take. 20% equity position is needed for no mi

The biggest difference between conventional loans and FHA loans comes down to the mortgage insurance.  Mortgage insurance is more expensive for FHA loans, but the trade off is a lower fixed rate than conventional loans.

On Conventional loans there is no upfront mortgage insurance like FHA, and if you have a high credit score you can possibly get a lower monthly mi premium as compared to FHA where everybody gets the same mortgage insurance premium not matter your credit score or down payment.

Lastly, FHA Mortgage insurance is for life of loan, whereas Conventional mortgage insurance or pmi it’s called, is discontinued once you reach the 80% threshold equity position of your home loan.

Again, I would not get too caught in FHA having mortgage insurance for life of loan, because most loans are only kept open a minimum of 5-7 years so a lot of times it may make sense to go with the lower rate and pay the mortgage insurance with FHA because most people don’t hold their mortgage for 30 years.

 

You can call or text me with your questions and we can compare the differences based on your credit score, down payment and income.

 

FHA vs conventional loans comparison chart

Equal Housing Lender.  NMLS#:57916 http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/Rates, terms, and program information are subject to change without notice. Subject to certain approvals, terms and conditions. This is not a commitment to lend.

Not part of any government lending agency and only lending in the State of Kentucky.

Looking at FHA loans vs Conventional loans can arm you with a lot of valuable information as these are the 2 most popular mortgage loan products today. Before getting to the content let’s look at some abbreviations that will need to be defined.

 

  • PMI stands for Private Mortgage Insurance
  • MIP stands for Mortgage Insurance Premium
  • Credit Scores are a numerical measure of your credit worthiness, the maximum score is 850
  • Debt-to-Income Ratio measures your monthly income versus your monthly obligations. A good rule of thumb is to try to be below 45%

 

FHA Loans vs Conventional Loans

 

fha loans vs conventional loans

 

Conventional Mortgage Benefits

 

  • Minimum Down Payment is 5%
  • Maximum loan amount is $424,100
  • 20% down payment preferred to avoid PMI
  • No upfront PMI
  • 3% Down Payment Conventional Loan Option is available
  • Mortgage Insurance is cheaper on a Conventional Loan at .51%
  • PMI expires once principal balance is less than 78%
  • Houses do not have to be owner-occupied (so they can be used at rentals)
  • Can purchase any condominium and townhome (no FHA regulations)

 

Conventional Mortgage Disadvantages

 

  • Significant upfront investment (20% down preferred)
  • Credit score of 620 required
  • No Down Payment Assistance
  • Down Payment must be at least 5% unless you qualify for a 3% conventional mortgage
  • Harder to Qualify for a Conventional Mortgage
  • No government inspection so the home can be in any quality
  • Only a portion of a down payment can be a gift
  • Interest rates are higher than FHA loans

 

Most of the disadvantages of conventional mortgages stem around qualifications and resources needed upfront. If a borrower has significant resources most of these disadvantages are of little consequence.

 

Conventional loan rates today

 

FHA Loan Advantages

 

The major advantage to going with an FHA loan is that there are much more lax credit standards you have to meet to obtain financing. Usually, FHA mortgages require a lower down payment, can work with lower credit scores, less elapsed time is needed if you have some credit problems (charge-offs, foreclosures) and you can use a non-occupant co-borrower or co-signer (who is a relative) to help you qualify for the loan. That way you can use blended ratios. Blended ratios are debt-to-income ratios that equally blend or combine the primary borrower’s income and the non-occupant co-borrower’s income and monthly payments to help get approval for the loan. Except for HomeReady (formerly Fannie Mae HomePath) mortgages, conventional loans do not allow you to use a non-occupant co-borrower.

 

  • Government-backed program. Ideal for first-time home buyers
  • Easier to obtain, lower credit scores needed and lower minimum down payment
  • Down Payment minimum is 3.5%
  • All of down payment can be a gift
  • Down Payment Assistance Available (in some circumstances)
  • No reserves required
  • Minimum credit score is 580 (for 3.5% down payment)
  • Home has to meet a minimum condition to be approved for FHA so there are less potential upfront repairs needed
  • Lower interest rates than conventional mortgages

 

 

FHA Loan Disadvantages

 

  • FHA loans require the owners to live in the home
  • Mortgage Insurance Premium required if borrowers put down less than 10%
  • Private Mortgage Insurance monthly cost is higher for FHA loans
  • Government Licensed Inspector required to inspect home before sale can be approved
  • FHA maximum loan limit is $271,050
  • Condominiums require FHA approval
  • FHA Loans take longer to process because of government requirements and all mandated repairs have to be completed before sales can be finalized

 

Most of these disadvantages involve extra requirements or limits added to the process of the house (see Pros and Cons of FHA Loans). Some of these might not be disadvantages depending on one’s personal situation, but they are extra steps to note. Since FHA mortgages are a government program, more care and consideration goes into the process, which may be better in some situations.

 

FHA loan rates today

 

Compare and Contrast FHA loans vs Conventional loans

 

There are four important numbers in deciding which loan you will go with: credit scores, down payment amount, debt-to-income, and mortgage insurance percentage rate. Conventional mortgages and FHA home loans have different limits and rates which are important to examine. They also have important differences which affect the availability of properties, the condition of the properties one wishes to buy and how your down payment can be paid. So comparing FHA loans vs Conventional loans can sometimes be a tricky endeavor.

 

Down Payment Requirements

 

  • Conventional Mortgages require between 5 and 20% upfront
    • In certain circumstances, down payments can be as low as 3% (Conventional 97 loan program)
  • FHA Mortgages have 2 possibilities
    • If Credit Score is 500-579 then 10% down payment is required (not all lenders will even go down this low)
    • If Credit Score is 580+ then 3.5% down payment is required

 

 

Debt-to-Income Ratio

 

  • Conventional Mortgages’ maximum debt-to-income ratio is 43% (hard cap)
  • FHA Mortgages’ maximum debt-to-income ratio is 45%
    • Soft cap as in certain circumstances this can be adjusted up to 50%

 

Mortgage Insurance Premium Rates

 

  • Conventional Mortgages PMI rate is .51% PMI
  • FHA Mortgages
    • If Down Payment is 10% or more the percentage is .80% MIP
    • If Down Payment is less than 10% the rate is .85% MIP.

 

Credit Score Minimum Requirement

 

  • Conventional Mortgage minimum credit score
    • Most lenders will require between 620 and 640
    • Some lenders it will be as high as 700
  • FHA Mortgage minimum credit score
    • Credit Score is a minimum of 500 if putting 10% down
    • Credit Score is a minimum of 580 if not

 

 

These four numbers are important to know and will affect one’s decision to pursue a particular type of home loan. Knowing your combination of numbers as you are looking to buy a house will help buyers find the best loans for their particular situation.

 

Other Comparisons

 

  • All sellers will take conventional mortgages and some sellers will not take FHA Loans
    • People looking for short-sells won’t take FHA because FHA has a longer closing process.
    • If sellers know there are FHA repairs that are needed in order to sell their house, they will not always accept FHA financing.

 

Thus, if one is wanting a low-risk transaction then the FHA home loan route is a better option to pursue, even though it limits your options for homes that you might wish to buy. If one is looking to fix-up a house and raise its equity quickly then a conventional loan is going to be more beneficial because there are no requirements as to the condition of the house and it’s occupied status.

 

Down Payment Gifting

 

  • Making the Down Payments (Assistance and Gifts)
    • Conventional mortgages have no assistance but can be partially fulfilled with a gift
    • FHA Mortgages have loans and assistance programs available and the whole down payment can be fulfilled with a gift

 

In this article, we have given you the basic parameters of FHA loans vs Conventional loans. The conventional loans are for people who have a better financial track record and can handle a larger upfront cost. Because of PMI, conventional loans are cheaper in the long run if you can put enough of a down payment to get rid of PMI. However, there are no down payment assistance programs to help you reach that goal. FHA loans are for people who are looking to build their investment and in some cases may not have a great financial track record. FHA loans have lower down payment requirements and many grants/forgivable loans to help people wanting to buy a first house in which to live for at least a few years. It is important to assess your situation and decide which mortgage is going to work better for your circumstances.

 

Conclusion

 

Both mortgages have a lot of benefits and drawbacks because they are designed for people with different needs. This article has hopefully helped you to get a basic understanding of the different terms and conditions of different mortgage packages when looking at FHA loans vs Conventional loans. Home buying can be an emotional roller coaster and the knowledge in this article will help you navigate the various emotional struggles of home buying.

 

 

 

 

 

louisville-kentucky-fha-mortgage-loan-guide-1-638

 

Mortgage Borrowers Get Loan Approval With Lower Credit Scores in Kentucky 


Recent studies suggest that home buyers with low credit scores and high debt-to-income ratios may have an easier time qualifying for financing.

Source: Mortgage Borrowers Get Loan Approval With Lower Credit

 

∘ What kind of credit score do I need to qualify for different first time home buyer loans in Kentucky?
Answer. Most lenders will wants a middle credit score of 620 to 640 for KY First Time Home Buyers looking to go no money down. The two most used no money down home loans in Kentucky being USDA Rural Housing and KHC with their down payment assistance will want a 620 to 640 middle score on their programs.
If you have access to 3.5% down payment, you can go FHA and secure a 30 year fixed rate mortgage with some lenders with a 580 credit score. Even though FHA on paper says they will go down to 500 credit score with at least 10% down payment, you will find it hard to get the loan approved because lenders will create overlays to protect their interest and maintain a good standing with FHA and HUD.
Another popular no money down loan is VA. Most VA lenders will want a 620 middle credit score but like FHA, VA on paper says they will go down to a 500 score, but good luck finding a lender for that scenario.
A lot of times if your scores are in the high 500’s or low 600’s range, we can do a rapid rescore and get your scores improved within 30 days.

http://www.emailmeform.com/builder/form/0bfJs9b6bK8TGoc6mQk9hIu
 
Joel Lobb (NMLS#57916)
Senior  Loan Officer
 
American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
10602 Timberwood Circle Suite 3
Louisville, KY 40223
Company ID #1364 | MB73346
 


Text/call 502-905-3708
kentuckyloan@gmail.com

http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
Disclaimer: No statement on this site is a commitment to make a loan. Loans are subject to borrower qualifications, including income, property evaluation, sufficient equity in the home to meet Loan-to-Value requirements, and final credit approval. Approvals are subject to underwriting guidelines, interest rates, and program guidelines and are subject to change without notice based on applicant’s eligibility and market conditions. Refinancing an existing loan may result in total finance charges being higher over the life of a loan. Reduction in payments may reflect a longer loan term. Terms of any loan may be subject to payment of points and fees by the applicant  Equal Opportunity Lender. NMLS#57916 http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
 
— Some products and services may not be available in all states. Credit and collateral are subject to approval. Terms and conditions apply. This is not a commitment to lend. Programs, rates, terms and conditions are subject to change without notice. The content in this marketing advertisement has not been approved, reviewed, sponsored or endorsed by any department or government agency. Rates are subject to change and are subject to borrower(s) qualification.
 

Text/call:      502-905-3708

fax:            502-327-9119
email:
          kentuckyloan@gmail.com
 
 

Mortgage Borrowers Get Loan Approval With Lower Credit


 

Recent studies suggest that home buyers with low credit scores and high debt-to-income ratios may have an easier time qualifying for financing.

New loans for borrowers with FICO scores reaching as low as the 400s jumped from 21.9 percent in 2009 to 29.7 percent last year, according to the study. FICO scores range from 300 to 850.

From January to March of this year, borrowers who were approved for FHA loans—which offer low down payment options for first-time home buyers—had an average credit score of 672, according to FHA data. During that same period in 2011, the average credit score for an FHA borrower was 701. FHA borrowers also have had higher debt-to-income ratios in recent years. Debt-to-income ratios measure monthly household income against other debt, such as credit cards, auto loans, and personal loans.

Between January and March, about a quarter of FHA borrowers had a DTI of more than 50 percent, FHA data shows. In 2013, only 12.7 percent of FHA borrowers had such a debt load.

 

Source: Mortgage Borrowers Get Loan Approval With Lower Credit

 

 

Joel Lobb Senior  Loan Officer

American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.

10602 Timberwood Circle Suite 3
Louisville, KY 40223
 Fax:     (502) 327-9119
Company ID #1364 | MB73346E
http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
Disclaimer: No statement on this site is a commitment to make a loan. Loans are subject to borrower qualifications, including income, property evaluation, sufficient equity in the home to meet Loan-to-Value requirements, and final credit approval. Approvals are subject to underwriting guidelines, interest rates, and program guidelines and are subject to change without notice based on applicant’s eligibility and market conditions.  NMLS#57916 http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
. The content in this marketing advertisement has not been approved, reviewed, sponsored or endorsed by any department or government agency. Rates are subject to change and are subject to borrower(s) qualification.

2018 Kentucky First Time Home Buyer Loan Programs


via 2018 Kentucky First Time Home Buyer Loan Programs

 

Getting a mortgage for a home can seem like a complicated and mysterious process. Just like any good investment, you should never buy anything that you don’t understand.  Knowing how the mortgage lending system works will relieve much of the stress and anxiety associated with making what is most likely the largest purchase of your entire life. This article will help you understand…

What You Need To Know About A Mortgage… BEFORE You Get One!!!

Qualifying for a Mortgage

Home LoansMortgage companies are in business to make money by lending money that is secured by an asset large enough to sell and recover their capital if the borrower is no longer able or willing to pay the payments. They are not in the business of owning property and would rather not have to foreclose on a loan, repossess the property and sell it to recapture their capital. This does happen but it is not their primary business. They would rather have their borrowers make their payments so that they could collect the interest and move on down the road. To increase their odds of that happening, mortgage companies look at several areas of your financial history to determine if you will meet their standards. This is called Qualifying for a Mortgage.

What the mortgage company finds when they look at these areas will help determine the type of mortgage that is available to you and the interest rate you will pay on the money that you borrow.

The areas that they are interested in looking at are:

Job History

Lenders want to know if you have been in your current job and/or profession for at least two years. They also want to know if you are retired or self-employed.

Income

TaxesMortgage lenders want to know how much your monthly income is before taxes are taken out (Gross Monthly Income). Typically you will be asked to provide check stubs for the last 30 days and Federal Tax Returns or W-2’s for the last two years to prove your income.

If you are self-employed and it is difficult for you to prove your gross income to the lender you may be able to get a “stated income” loan. If that is the route that you take, your income must be “reasonable” for your profession. Since stated income loans are riskier for the lender you will generally have a higher interest rate.

Credit History

Mortgage lenders really like it if you have a history of paying your bills on time. This is reflected in your credit report and FICO score. If you have “bad credit”, you are NOT automatically disqualified from getting a mortgage. Lower credit scores will increase the interest rate that you will be required to pay and sometimes that increase will be quite significant.

Debt Load

You can have an awesome job with an income to make Bill Gates jealous and a great credit score but if you have already acquired too much long term debt you may not qualify for the loan you want.

assetsAssets

Mortgage lenders will want to check your bank accounts to make sure that you have the cash necessary to pay the down payment and closing costs and that you have “reserves” available to make the loan payment. Often, the lender will require 3-6 months reserves. (Reserves can be in a 401K or other retirement account that you can pull the money out of)

Requested Loan Amount

The loan you are requesting will need to be proportional to your ability to make the payments. Be reasonable with your house buying expectations – don’t expect to buy a lot more house than you can afford. The recent housing bust defined the term “house poor” and got a lot of people into financial trouble. Again, mortgage lenders would much rather you make your monthly house payments because everyone loses if they have to foreclose.

Determining YOUR Mortgage Interest Rate

The market place determines the range of interest rates available for any mortgage and the lending rates change daily. The specific interest rate you will pay is based on how well qualified you are and the type of loan you want.

Interest rates are typically based on the answers to these questions:

How Good Is Your Credit Score? 

FICO ScoreThe most widely used score is the FICO score, the credit score created by Fair Isaac Corporation. Lenders use the FICO Score to help them make billions of credit decisions every day. Fair Isaac calculates the FICO Score based solely on information in consumer credit reports maintained by the credit reporting agencies.

FICO credit scores range from 300 to 850. That FICO Score is calculated by a mathematical equation that evaluates many types of information from your credit report, at that agency. By comparing this information to the patterns in hundreds of thousands of past credit reports, the FICO Score estimates your level of future credit risk.

With the top end of the credit score being 850, anything above about 720 is considered excellent. Some local lenders set 740 as the benchmark for their preferred interest rates. Having a lower credit score DOES NOT mean you will not get a loan. You may qualify BUT your interest rate will be higher than someone with better credit.

How Big Is Your Down-Payment?

down-paymentThe Down-Payment is the amount of your own money you are going to put into buying the property. The more money you put into the property on the front end, the lower the risk of you not paying the payments. The amount of your down payment also directly affects the amount of your loan (purchase price – down payment = loan amount). This is called the Loan to Value Ratio (LTV).

The LTV is the percentage of the value of the house that the mortgage will cover (loan amount / purchase price x 100). For example, the property you are interested in buying is selling for $100,000. You have $20,000 for the down-payment and want a mortgage for the other $80,000. The LTV for this mortgage is 80%.

Similar to the LTV is the Combined Loan to Value Ratio (CLTV). The CLTV is used when 2 loans are used to finance the home purchase. You may see or hear terms like “80-20” or “80-15-5”. This refers to the 1st lien percentage (80), the 2nd lien percentage (20 or 15) and the down payment percentage (5).

How Much Debt Do You Currently Have?

It only makes sense that the more debt you have the riskier the loan is for the lender. There is a finite amount of income in all of our households and it all gets allocated every month. Lenders use a “debt-to-income” ratio to determine how qualified you are for the loan based on how much debt you already have.

debt_to_income_ratioYour Debt to Income Ratio (DTI) is the percentage of your income that you owe in debt on a monthly basis. For example, if you make $5,000 per month, and have debt payments (car loans, credit cards, student loans, etc.) of $2,000, your DTI ratio is 40%. The higher this ratio is, the less likely you will be to qualify for a low interest rate.

Conventional loans typically have a qualifying ratio of 28/36. FHA loans will sometimes allow for a higher debt load of 29/41 qualifying ratio.

The first number in a qualifying ratio is the maximum percentage of your gross monthly income that can be applied to your mortgage. That includes the loan principal and interestprivate mortgage insuranceproperty taxeshomeowners insurance, and homeowner’s association dues.

The second number is the maximum percentage of your gross monthly income that can be applied to housing expenses and recurring debt. Recurring debt includes monthly payments for carsboatsmotorcycleschild support payments and monthly credit card payments.

 Example:  of a 28/36 qualifying ratio:

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .28 = $1400 can be applied to housing.

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .36 = $1,800 can be applied to recurring debt plus housing expenses

Example: of a 29/41 qualifying ratio:

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .29 = $1,450 can be applied to housing.

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .41 = $2,050 can be applied to recurring debt plus housing expenses

These are just general guidelines and everyone’s personal finances are unique. To get the real answer about how well you qualify and to determine how large a mortgage a local lender will offer contact one of our preferred lenders and visit with a loan officer.

Here is a KEY point to remember…

FICO KEYYour credit score is THE most vital piece of information

when qualifying for a loan.

I am a Dave Ramsey fan and I believe in paying cash but even Dave concedes when it comes to buying a house. In Financial Peace Dave calls the FICO score an “I love debt score” and brags about not having one. He even tells a story about trying to rent an apartment and he couldn’t because he doesn’t have a FICO score. He then says, “I can’t rent an apartment because I don’t have a FICO score… I could write a check and buy the whole complex but I can’t rent an apartment because I don’t have a credit score!” Which is a great story for someone that CAN write a check and buy the whole complex… The rest of us need to maintain a really good credit score.

If you’re ready to buy a new home

and want to shop around for the best deal on a mortgage…

Looking for a mortgage, auto or student loan may cause multiple lenders to request your credit report, even though you are only looking for one loan. To compensate for this, the score ignores mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries made in the 30 days prior to scoring. So, if you find a loan within 30 days, the inquiries won’t affect your score while you’re rate shopping. In addition, the score looks on your credit report for mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries older than 30 days. If it finds some, it counts those inquiries that fall in a typical shopping period as just one inquiry when determining your score. For FICO scores calculated from older versions of the scoring formula, this shopping period is any 14 day span. For FICO scores calculated from the newest versions of the scoring formula, this shopping period is any 45 day span. Each lender chooses which version of the FICO scoring formula it wants the credit reporting agency to use to calculate your FICO score.

What Type of Loan Are You Looking For?

40 year fixed, 30 year fixed, 20 year fixed, 15 year fixed, 10 Year Fixed, Adjustable Rate, etc. All of these loan types have different interest rate ranges.

Locking Your Interest Rate

Once you have completed a loan application, determined what type of loan you want and qualified for that loan you can “lock” the interest rate for that loan. Locking the Interest Rate means, for the period of the “lock” you are guaranteed that interest rate. Lock periods are typically 15, 30 or 60 days, although you may be able to get an extended lock period.

Rate LockOnce you lock your interest rate:

If you do not close on the loan before the lock period expires, you will NOT have a guaranteed interest rate anymore. And, the longer the lock period, the higher the rate will be. For example, a 15 day lock may be at 5.125%, a 30 day lock at 5.25%, and a 60 day lock at 5.375%. So, before locking your loan, be sure you are not locking for too long a time or for too short a time.

Interest rates fluctuate daily and may go up or down. By locking your rate, you are betting that rates will go up in the future.

 What does “Buying Down” the Interest Rate Mean?

You can reduce the interest rate on your mortgage by paying “points” at closing. A point is 1% of the value of the loan, so a point on a $200,000 loan is $2,000. If you “buy down” you loan to a lower interest rate you will have lower monthly payments and pay less interest over the life of the loan. However, “buying down” you loan to a lower interest rate means more money out of your pocket on the front end when you close the loan. You should do the math and weigh each side of the equation before making a decision about buying down the interest rate or not.

What Are The Closing Costs and Fees?

Closing CostsThere are four types of closing costs and fees…

Those charged by the mortgage company and/or mortgage broker, those charged by 3rd party vendors, those charged by the Title Company, Escrow Company or Escrow Attorney and Pre-Paid Charges.

Lender Fees

These can include loan origination fees and Broker fees which are usually a percentage of the loan amount; administrative fees and application fees, processing fees and underwriting fees. These last fees usually run from $100 to $500, and ALL of them are negotiable.

3rd Party Vendor charges

These are charges collected by the lender and paid to outside companies that provide a service. These are not usually negotiable and can include appraisal charges, flood certification fees, courier charges, document prep fees, mortgage lender attorney fees, etc.

Title Company charges

These are the fees charged by the Title Company, Escrow Company or Escrow Attorney. They are usually set by the state and are not negotiable. These charges include title insurance, attorney fees, state/county/city registration fees, etc.

Pre-Paid Charges

If the lender will be establishing an escrow account to pay taxes and insurance, the buyer will pre-pay taxes and insurance to establish an escrow account and will pre-pay the interest on the loan until the end of the month in which the loan closes.

 Does The Closing Date Really Matter?

The day you choose to close determines the amount of pre-paid interest you will have to pay. Closing at the end of the month means that you will pay less pre-paid interest. For example, if you close on October 1st you will pay 31 days of pre-paid interest. If you close on October 31st you will pay 1 day of pre-paid interest.

When Is My First Payment Due?

It doesn’t matter what day of the month you close on, you will not have your first loan payment due until a month has passed. So, if you close in October, your first payment is due in December – you get November for free!

What Is PMI?

pmi-basics1Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) is required on all loans that have a LTV greater than 80%. PMI is an insurance premium that you pay every month as part of your monthly payment. However, PMI is not intended to protect you. PMI is insurance coverage that protects the mortgage lender against default on the loan. If you stop making your payments, the mortgage lender is paid a percentage of the loan amount (usually 25% to 35%) by the insurance company.

http://www.emailmeform.com/builder/form/0bfJs9b6bK8TGoc6mQk9hIu

Customer Testimonials

We just moved here the first of January in 2017 from Ohio to the Louisville, KY area and we found Joel’s website online. He was quick to respond to us and got back the same day on our loan approval. He was very knowledgeable about the local market and kept us up-to date throughout the loan process and was a pleasure to meet at closing. Would recommend his services.

Angela Forsythe

“We were searching online for mortgage companies in Louisville, Ky locally to deal with and found Joel’s website, and it was a godsend. He was great to work with, and delivered on everything he said he would do. I ended up referring my co-worker at UPS, and she was very pleased with his service and rates too. Would definitely vouch for him.” September 2016

Monica Leinhardt

“We contacted Joel back in July 2011 to refinance our Mortgage and he was great to work with. We contacted several lenders locally and online, and most where taking almost 60 days to close a refinance, Joel got it done in 23 days start to finish,I would definetly recommmend him. He got us 3.75% with just $900 in closing costs on our FHA Streamline loan.

Kayle Griffin

“Joel is one of the best Mortgage Brokers I have ever worked with in my sixteen years in the real estate and mortgage business.” May 25, 2010

Tim Beck

“Joel has always worked very hard to keep his word and to work out seasonable solutions to difficult problems. He is truly an expert in FHA and other type loans.”

September 1, 2010 Nancy Nalley
“I have worked with Joel since 1998. He is a great loan professional.” I refer most of my Louisville, Kentucky area home buyers to him and he always take special care of them.

August 23, 2012 Jon ClarK

“Joel Lobb is a real professional in the lending industry, with many years of experience, he is the one to go to for any mortgage lending needs.” August 22, 2011

RICHARD VOLZ , Residential Sales , Remax Foursquare Realty
“When looking to purchase our new home in 2006, I had the pleasure of meeting Joel Lobb. Not only was he personable and easy to reach, he was extremely knowledgeable in his field and made sure to find us the best rate and a top notch mortgage company. We were able to complete the process in less than 3 weeks with his expertise. I find Joel to have the utmost high integrity and I recommend him to anyone who say’s they are need of mortgage assistance. He is also fantastic and keeping everyone up to date on the latest in the housing industry through his twitter posts. He provided great results for our family and we still communicate to this day!”

August 21, 2010
Stacie Drake

 

“We first use Joel on our new home purchase in 2007 in St Matthews, Kentucky area and he was great to work with. We have since refinanced our home with him in 2010 when rates got really low and he has always delivered on what he says. I could not imagine using anyone else.”

Melody Glasscock March 2014

 
Absolutely Amazing!! I emailed Joel after I had just got a denial from a bank and just thought i would try to get some advice on what my next steps would be to get a house. I honestly didn’t expect to even get a reply because my credit is not great. That was about a week and a half ago. I just signed a contract on a house last night. ONLY because of Joel Lobb. He even worked with us throughout the weekend, which shocked me. Best decision I have ever made. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR WORKING WITH US THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE PROCESS.
Cee Bellisle August 2017

Contacted him about buying a home and he was great to work with. I was moving to Louisville Ky to take a new job and he walked me through the entire process. He explained to me all the different options for FHA, VA, USDA mortgage loans and credit score requirements versus Fannie Mae. Since I was a first time home buyer I needed alot of help and guidance. I would definitely recommend him. Fast to respond and available to answer questions that I or my realtor had after hours.

 

Anderson Johnson April 2018

 

 

We moved from Michigan to Northern Kentucky area and we were really impressed. We got a USDA loan no money down and closed in less than 3.5 weeks. We shopped around online with other lenders but Joel was always first to respond and his rates were just a little better than other lenders. He kept us informed through the process along with our realtor and there was absolutely no surprises like we heard from other co-workers and friends that they experienced in their loan process. We have already referred another co-worker to Joel . He’s AWESOME!

Patty Kingston June 2018

 

Down Payment And Closing Cost Assistance Kentucky Housing HHF DAP Funds 


KHC Loan Programs

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MRB

  • All MRB Kentucky Housing first mortgage loans are for a 30-year term at a fixed rate of interest.
  • The home you purchase through Kentucky Housing must be the only residential property you own and you must occupy the home as your principal residence while the loan debt is still outstanding.
  • To qualify, you must meet KHC’s regular MRB income guidelines, make a down payment or qualify for down payment assistance, be a US citizen or legal alien and have an acceptable credit history.
  • Some MRB KHC loans are subject to a federal recapture tax. Recapture is a federal income tax that the borrowers may have to pay if they have considerable growth in their income and they sell or transfer their KHC-financed home within 9 years.  However, KHC has implemented a Recapture Tax Guarantee Program for all loans that close after October 1, 2006.  The Recapture Tax Guarantee Program will reimburse homeowners if they are subject to pay the Federal Recapture Tax on their KHC mortgage loan upon the sale of their home.

Conventional

  • Insured by approved mortgage insurance company.
  • Minimum credit score of 660 or better.
  • Quick turnaround time, 20 percent down payment and no up-front or monthly mortgage insurance.

FHA

  • Insured by the Federal Housing Administration.
  • Down payments as little as 3.5 percent.
  • Can use DAP for 3.5 percent down payment requirement.
  • Upfront and monthly mortgage insurance.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.

VA

  • Guaranteed by the Veterans Administration for qualified military veterans.
  • No down payment if the property appraises for the sale price or greater.
  • Credit underwriting is flexible.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.
  • No monthly mortgage insurance payments.

RHS

  • Guaranteed by Rural Housing Services (RHS).
  • Home must be located in a rural area as defined by RHS.
  • No down payment if the property appraises for the sale price or greater.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.

GNMA Secondary Market

  • All GNMA KHC first mortgage loans are for a 30-year term at a fixed rate of interest.
  • The home you purchase through KHC must be occupied as your principle residence while the loan debt is outstanding.
  • To qualify, you must meet KHC’s GNMA income guidelines, make a down payment, or qualify for down payment assistance, be a U.S. citizen or legal alien and have an acceptable credit history.

FHA

  • Insured by the Federal Housing Administration.
  • Down payments as little as 3.5 percent.
  • Can use DAP for 3.5 percent down payment requirement.
  • Upfront and monthly mortgage insurance.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.

VA

  • Guaranteed by the Veterans Administration for qualified military veterans.
  • No down payment if the property appraises for the sale price or greater.
  • Credit underwriting is flexible.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.
  • No monthly mortgage insurance payments.

RHS

  • Guaranteed by Rural Housing Services (RHS).
  • Home must be located in a rural area as defined by RHS.
  • No down payment if the property appraises for the sale price or greater.
  • Minimum credit score of 620.
Two FHA Refinance Options
  • Credit qualifying Streamline Refinance and Rate/Term Refinance
    • Insured by the Federal Housing Administration
    • Cash back to borrower not to exceed $500
    • Upfront and monthly mortgage insurance
    • Minimum credit score of 620

Home Buyer Tax Credit

KHC’s Home Buyer Tax Credit is available through Mortgage Credit Certificates (MCC), which reduce the amount of federal income tax you pay, giving you more available income to qualify for a mortgage loan.  MCCs are NOT mortgages.  They are tax credits that put extra cash in your pocket each month, so you can more easily afford a house payment.  That means fewer tax dollars will be withheld from your regular paycheck, increasing your take-home pay.  The federal government allows every homeowner an income tax deduction for all the interest paid each year on a mortgage loan.  But an MCC gives you a tax credit of 25 percent (not to exceed $2,000).  You can still deduct the remaining 75 percent interest on your income taxes.  A tax credit is not the same as a tax deduction.  A tax deduction reduces the portion of your income that is taxed, so you pay less.  A tax credit is a direct, dollar for dollar reduction in the total tax you owe.  The MCC is effective for the life of the loan as long as you live in the home.  If you sell your home in the first nine years of ownership, you may be subject to Federal Recapture Tax.  One-time fee of $500 or reduced to $200 if through KHC’s GNMA Secondary Market First Mortgage Program.  Not valid with MRB loan programs.

Special First Mortgage Loan Programs

The Lottery for Special Funding is opened once a year.  The funds are allocated for persons meeting income and all MRB Guidelines.  These limited funds are available, usually in July, on a first-come, first-served basis.
Guidelines
  • Must be a first time home buyer, unless property is located in a targeted county.
  • Interest rate fixed at 3.00 percent based on minimum ratios 29/41 percent.
  • Eligible households:
    • Single parents (at least one dependent under the age of 18 must live in the home.)
    • Households with a person who has a permanent disability and who receives some form of disability income (SSI, SSDI, Veterans Disability etc.).
    • Households where at least one of the home buyers is age 62 or older.
  • Gross Annual Household Income guidelines:
    • $28,000 for a household of 1 or 2 people; or
    • $33,000 for a household of 3 or more people.
  • All household occupants (18 years and older) with income must be included on loan and be credit ready.
  • Must use all but two months’ reserves of borrower’s own funds.
  • Existing or new construction property with a purchase price limit of $115,000
  • Zero Point Rate
  • Only FHA, VA and RHS – 620 credit score and AUS Approval
  • 60 Day Lock
  • Kentucky Housing’s Regular and HOME DAP loan program may be used for down payment and closing cost assistance.
Applying for a Kentucky Housing loan is easy. Just contact one of our approved lenders near you and ask for a Kentucky Housing loan.
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Down Payment Closing Cost Assistance

KHC recognizes that down payments, closing costs, and prep​aids are stumbling blocks for many potential home buyers. Here are several loan programs to help. Your KHC-approved lender can help you apply for the program that meets your need.

Not Available – Hardest Hit Fund (HHF) DAP

  • Zero percent interest rate for first-time home buyers.
  • A non-repayable second mortgage for $10,000.
  • Forgiven after five years.
  • Home purchase must be located in Christian, Hardin, Jefferson, or Kenton counties.
  • New construction properties are not allowed.
    • ​Property has to have been previously occupied
  • Applicants must meet Secondary Market or MRB Income and Purchase Price Limits based on funding source.

Regular DAP

  • Purchase price up to $301,294 with Secondary Market or $271,164 with MRB.
  • Assistance in the form of a loan up to $6,000 in $100 increments.
  • Repayable over a ten-year term at 5.50 percent. A DAP of $6,000 over ten years at 5.50 percent interest would equal a payment of $65.12.
  • Available to all KHC first-mortgage loan recipients.

Affordable DAP

  • Purchase price up to $301,294 with Secondary Market or $271,164 with MRB.
  • Assistance up to $4,500.
  • Repayable over a ten-year term at 1.00 percent.
  • Borrowers must meet Affordable DAP income limits.

More about down payment and closing costs

  • No liquid asset review and no limit on borrower reserves.
  • Specific credit underwriting standards may apply to down payment programs.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Joel Lobb (NMLS#57916)
Senior  Loan Officer
 
American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
10602 Timberwood Circle Suite 3
Louisville, KY 40223
Company ID #1364 | MB73346
 


Text/call 502-905-3708
kentuckyloan@gmail.com

http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
Disclaimer: No statement on this site is a commitment to make a loan. Loans are subject to borrower qualifications, including income, property evaluation, sufficient equity in the home to meet Loan-to-Value requirements, and final credit approval. Approvals are subject to underwriting guidelines, interest rates, and program guidelines and are subject to change without notice based on applicant’s eligibility and market conditions. Refinancing an existing loan may result in total finance charges being higher over the life of a loan. Reduction in payments may reflect a longer loan term. Terms of any loan may be subject to payment of points and fees by the applicant  Equal Opportunity Lender. NMLS#57916 http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
 
— Some products and services may not be available in all states. Credit and collateral are subject to approval. Terms and conditions apply. This is not a commitment to lend. Programs, rates, terms and conditions are subject to change without notice. The content in this marketing advertisement has not been approved, reviewed, sponsored or endorsed by any department or government agency. Rates are subject to change and are subject to borrower(s) qualification.

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Source: http://www.mylouisvillekentuckymortgage.com/2012/08/khc-loan-programs.html

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